Winnipeg - Diagnostic Radiology
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
- 6 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic Radiology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35543
Summary
- This is a 5-year diagnostic radiology residency based at the Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface Hospital, and Grace General Hospital in Winnipeg.
- Core imaging training is organized in blocks of 1-3 months, and residents attend a 4-week AIRP radiologic-pathologic correlation course.
- A scholarly project is required, with protected time available, and rural rotations are optional.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre
- Children's Hospital
- St. Boniface Hospital
Show all 7Show fewer
- Grace General Hospital
- Kleysen Institute for Advanced Medicine
- Manitoba Breast Health Centre
- Pan Am Clinic
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Access to one of Canada's only IMRIS hybrid 3T MRI and biplane neuroangiography suites.
- Very active interventional and neurointerventional service.
- 1:1 resident-to-faculty ratio.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- surgery (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
- medicine (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
- pediatrics (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
- adult and pediatric ER (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
- neurology (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
- pathology (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
- abdominal imaging (Foundations and Core)
- chest & cardiac imaging (Foundations and Core)
- musculoskeletal imaging (Foundations and Core)
- interventional radiology (Foundations and Core)
- neuroradiology (Foundations and Core)
- pediatric imaging (Foundations and Core)
- ultrasound (Foundations and Core)
- nuclear medicine (Foundations and Core)
- breast imaging (Foundations and Core)
- radiographic pathologic correlation course (Foundations and Core · 4-week · Washington, D.C.)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
- Children's Hospital (Winnipeg)
- St. Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Grace General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Kleysen Institute for Advanced Medicine (Winnipeg)
- Manitoba Breast Health Centre (Winnipeg)
- Pan Am Clinic (Winnipeg)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Diagnostic.Radiology@umanitoba.ca
Shared by Eunice Dawari · Program Administrator and Courtney Verhaeghe · Program Administrator
Program directors
Dr. Esther Kim
Dr. Derek Bueddefeld
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage