Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Diagnostic Radiology

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 10 Sep 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
6 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Diagnostic Radiology
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
30105

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The University of Manitoba's Diagnostic Radiology residency program offers comprehensive training across all radiology modalities and disciplines. With multiple fellowship-trained radiologists in various subspecialties and a large catchment area, the program provides extensive exposure to diverse clinical pathologies. Residents benefit from a collegial environment, 1:1 faculty ratio, and opportunities for inter-provincial electives.

Training

Research
Financial support and protected time available for research. Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project and present at the annual Radiology Research Day.
Training setting
Based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, with training at tertiary care institutions including Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface Hospital, and Grace General Hospital. Advanced imaging facilities include state-of-the-art MRI scanners and a unique IMRIS hybrid MRI and neuroangiography suite.
Teaching approach
The program follows a competency-based approach with progressive independence, focusing on exposing residents to core training in all imaging disciplines through structured rotations and providing comprehensive educational experiences with increasing levels of responsibility.
Setting types
  • Academic medical center
  • Tertiary care center
  • Children's hospital
Focus areas
  • Interventional Radiology
  • Neurointerventional Radiology
  • Cardiac CT and MR
  • Breast MR
  • Abdominal MR
  • PET/CT
  • Pediatric Radiology
  • Chest Imaging
  • Abdominal Imaging
  • Neuroradiology
  • Musculoskeletal Imaging
  • Breast Imaging
Patient populations
  • Pediatric patients
  • Adult patients
  • Emergency patients
  • Sports medicine patients
  • Breast imaging patients
Highlights
  • Inter-provincial electives
  • AIRP Radiographic Pathologic Correlation Course
  • Weekly academic half-day seminars
  • Daily resident rounds
  • In-house physics teaching
  • Journal Club
  • Staff and peer-to-peer mentorship program
  • In-house practice oral exams
  • Medical student teaching opportunities
  • National OSCE participation
  • Scholarly project requirement
  • Conference attendance funding
Strengths
  • 1:1 ratio of residents to faculty
  • High resident morale
  • Comprehensive subspecialty coverage
  • Large provincial catchment area
  • Advanced imaging technologies
  • Flexible training opportunities
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Selection

What the program looks at
  • Interview performance
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Medical school grades
  • Standardized examinations
  • Electives in radiology
  • Scholarly activity
  • Research interests
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
20, 21 and 22 Jan 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • St. Boniface Hospital
  • Grace General Hospital
  • Manitoba Breast Health Centre
  • Pan Am Clinic

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−16.3 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
July average
19.5 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
Snowfall
126.2 cm a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
Days below −20 °C
51.9 days a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Winnipeg, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
749,607 people up 6.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
27.3% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.2% · non-permanent residents: 4.1%
Indigenous identity
12.4% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0% Average commute: 21.8 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$80,000 before tax $69,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 758,515 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.146 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.8% October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$55,813 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Winnipeg, Manitoba, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
5.0% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.4 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine (NOC 31100) in the Winnipeg region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.