Vancouver - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35511
Summary
- This is a 5-year Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery residency, the provincial training program for British Columbia, based at major teaching hospitals in Vancouver.
- Residents also complete community hospital rotations in Surrey, Victoria, and Kelowna, with optional rural and outreach rotations.
- Residents are expected to engage in research, and senior years include research blocks with faculty mentorship.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul’s Hospital
- BC Children’s Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- BC Cancer Agency
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Highlights
- Single provincial OHNS program for British Columbia, with community rotations in Surrey, Kelowna and Victoria.
- Program typically funds travel to key courses each year, from PGY-1 bootcamp to PGY-5 AAO-HNS meeting.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Surgery (PGY 1 & 2)
- Plastic Surgery (PGY 1 & 2)
- Neurosurgery (PGY 1 & 2)
- Trauma Surgery (PGY 1 & 2)
- Intensive Care (PGY 1 & 2)
- Anesthesia (PGY 1 & 2)
- Adult Emergency Medicine (PGY 1 & 2)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (PGY 1 & 2)
- Internal Medicine (PGY 1 & 2)
- Surgical Dermatology (PGY 1 & 2)
- Crash Program (PGY 1 & 2 · one-month)
- Head & Neck Surgical Oncology and Reconstruction (PGY-3 to 5)
- Otology and Neuro-otology (PGY-3 to 5)
- Rhinology and Skull-Base Surgery (PGY-3 to 5)
- Laryngology (PGY-3 to 5)
- Pediatric Otolaryngology (PGY-3 to 5)
- Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (PGY-3 to 5)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer Agency
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
BC Children’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Harman Parhar
Postgraduate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage