Vancouver - Neurology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35555
Summary
- UBC's adult neurology residency in Vancouver is a 5-year program organized into Transition to Discipline, Foundations, Core, and Transition to Practice stages.
- Training sites include Vancouver Hospital, UBC Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital and BC Children's Hospital, and community rotations are part of the curriculum.
- Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project, and longitudinal clinic experience runs from PGY3 to PGY5.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Vancouver Hospital (VH)
- UBC Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- BC Children's Hospital
- BC Cancer Agency
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Optional PGY4/5 outreach clinics in underserved areas such as Haida Gwaii, Whitehorse and Kitimat.
- Active neuroethics program including neuroethics movie nights and optional evening seminars.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- inpatient neurology (Transition to Discipline · one block)
- CTU (Transition to Discipline · one block)
- CTU (Foundations)
- internal medicine subspecialties (Foundations)
- emergency medicine (Foundations)
- psychiatry (Foundations)
- ICU (Foundations)
- neurosurgery (Foundations)
- inpatient neurology (Core)
- ambulatory clinics (Core)
- neuromuscular/EMG (Core)
- epilepsy/EEG (Core)
- pediatric neurology (Core)
- Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice)
- inpatient neurology CTU (Junior residents · six blocks)
- inpatient consultation (Junior residents · two blocks)
- community neurology (Junior residents · a block)
- ambulatory rotation (3-month · UBC Point Grey campus)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 Feb 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver Hospital (VH) (Vancouver)
- UBC Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer Agency
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver Hospital (VH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
UBC Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
BC Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Samuel Yip
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage