Montreal - Urology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Urology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35358
Summary
- This is a five-year French-language urology residency at Université de Montréal, with three positions for 2027-2028.
- Training takes place mainly at CHUM, CHU Sainte-Justine and the East and North Montreal university networks, and electives are possible in Trois-Rivières.
- PGY-2 includes three research periods, and PGY-4 includes four to six periods of pediatric urology.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Centre hospitalier universitaire mère-enfant Sainte-Justine
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
Show all 10Show fewer
- Santa Cabrini
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Jean-Talon
- Fleury
- Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières
- Centre hospitalier de Chicoutimi
- Centre hospitalier de Rimouski
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Presents itself as the largest francophone urology residency program in Canada.
- Three dedicated research periods in PGY-2.
- Exposure to specialised clinics, including uro-oncology with chemotherapy and immunotherapy treatments.
By year
- PGY-1
- Urologie5 périodes
- Chirurgie générale3
- Microbiologie1
- Traumatologie1
- USI1
- Garde de nuit1
- Boot camp1
- PGY-2
- Urologie6
- Transplantation rénale1
- Urogynécologie1
- Chirurgie vasculaire1
- Nuit USI1
- Recherche3
- PGY-3
- Urologie13
- PGY-4
- Urologie7-9
- Urologie pédiatrique4-6
- Urologie communautaire0-2
- PGY-5
- Urologie13
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier universitaire mère-enfant Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- Santa Cabrini (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (Montréal)
- Jean-Talon (Montréal)
- Fleury (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)
- Centre hospitalier de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
- Centre hospitalier de Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Centre hospitalier universitaire mère-enfant Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Show facts for 7 more sitesShow fewer
Santa Cabrini
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,441 · 2026–2027: 15,611
- Licensed beds
- physical health 305 · geriatrics 18
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Jean-Talon
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,759 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 131 · psychiatry 30 · geriatrics 25
Fleury
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,751 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 115 · geriatrics 10
Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 24,070 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 432 · psychiatry 29 · neonatology 12
Centre hospitalier de Chicoutimi
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
- Licensed beds
- physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21
Centre hospitalier de Rimouski
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,321 · 2026–2027: 12,663
- Licensed beds
- physical health 170 · psychiatry 34 · geriatrics 15 · neonatology 5
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr(e) Julien Letendre
Directeur du programme
Martine Jolivet-Tremblay
Directeur adjoint du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage