Skip to content
CdnMD

Estrie - Obstetrics and Gynecology

Université de SherbrookeEstrie, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 9 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
4 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35773

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This is a 5-year obstetrics and gynecology residency at the Université de Sherbrooke, trained mainly in Sherbrooke.
  • From R2 to R5, residents spend at least 2 periods per year outside Sherbrooke on community rotations at affiliated centres such as Saguenay, Moncton, Drummondville, Longueuil and Saint-Hyacinthe.
  • Residents must develop a research project, with a research period in second year, and first-year residents take part in the surgical foundations program.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Sites

7 teaching sites

  • Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS (Sherbrooke – site Fleurimont et Hôtel-Dieu, Magog, Granit)
  • Clinique de Planification des naissances à Sherbrooke
  • Hôpital de Chicoutimi
Show all 7
  • Hôpital Georges-L. Dumont
  • Hôpital Sainte-Croix
  • Hôpital Honoré-Mercier
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French
Highlights
  • Required community rotations include an out-of-province site in Moncton, New Brunswick.
  • Program-created research fund helps residents carry out their research projects.
  • Reports a 100% Royal College exam pass rate over the past 20 years.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Introduction à l’obstétrique-gynécologie (Progression vers la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Obstétrique (Progression vers la discipline · 1 période)
  • Obstétrique-gynécologie ambulatoire (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 4 périodes)
  • Obstétrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 à 4 périodes)
  • Médecine interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Infectiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Chirurgie générale (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Soins intensifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Planning familial (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Médecine d’urgence (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Néonatalogie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Stage en communauté des fondements de la discipline (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Colposcopie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 à 2 périodes)
  • Pathologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Échographie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Recherche (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Endocrinologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Gynécologie opératoire (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 à 5 périodes)
  • Stage en communauté de la maîtrise (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Recherche ou stage sélectif (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Stage sélectif et électif (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 à 5 périodes)
  • Obstétrique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 à 4 périodes)
  • Gynécologie opératoire (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 à 5 périodes)
  • Colposcopie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 ou 2 périodes)
  • Uro-gynécologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Oncologie gynécologique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Endocrinologie de la reproduction et gynécologie pédiatrique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Médecine foeto-maternelle (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Stage de sénior en obstétrique-gynécologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 à 9 périodes)
  • Stage de sénior en obstétrique-gynécologie ou périodes sélectives ou électives (Transition vers la pratique)

Selection

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
1 and 2 Feb 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Info sessions

  • Tue 3 Nov 20267:30 pm (time zone not stated)

    Info session · Virtual

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 1 Oct 2026. Dates and times are as the program wrote them, not converted to your time zone. Programs add and change sessions: confirm with the program.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS (Sherbrooke – site Fleurimont et Hôtel-Dieu, Magog, Granit) (Sherbrooke)
  • Clinique de Planification des naissances à Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Georges-L. Dumont (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Sainte-Croix (Drummondville · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Honoré-Mercier (Saint-Hyacinthe · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (Longueuil · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Hôpital de Chicoutimi

Matched to Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Saguenay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Sainte-Croix

Matched to Hôpital Sainte-Croix (Drummondville) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 17,461 · 2026–2027: no row in the file Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 154 · psychiatry 25 · geriatrics 18 · neonatology 4 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Honoré-Mercier

Matched to Hôpital Honoré-Mercier (Saint-Hyacinthe) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,098 · 2026–2027: 21,316 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 192 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 4 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Show facts for 1 more sites

Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 571 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

Secrétariat

postdoc-obgyn-med@USherbrooke.ca

Marie-Claude Sarrazin · Adjointe administrative

Program directors

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Estrie, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.5 °C Lennoxville, 9.1 km away
July average
19.7 °C Lennoxville, 9.1 km away
Snowfall
290.6 cm a year Coaticook, 28.5 km away
Days below −20 °C
23.1 days a year Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Sherbrooke, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
172,950 people up 7.2% from 2016
Official languages
English only 1.7% · French only 51.6% · English and French 46.1% · neither 0.7% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
8.8% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.4% · non-permanent residents: 2.2%
Indigenous identity
1.7% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 87.3% · public transit 4.9% · walking or cycling 6.4% · other 1.4% Average commute: 18.3 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$62,400 before tax $55,200 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Sherbrooke, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 151,157 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.156 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.7% October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$47,414 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Quebec, population 100,000 to 499,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
4.0% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.6 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Moderate The employment outlook will be Moderate for specialists in surgery (NOC 31101) in the Estrie region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in surgery, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.