Winnipeg - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 7 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 34554
Summary
- This 1-year CCFP-EM program prepares family physicians for the CCFP-EM Certification in Emergency Medicine.
- Residents complete a 4-week rural emergency rotation in Brandon, Thompson, Portage la Prairie, or Selkirk, and a required small scholarly project.
- Ultrasound training is embedded into academic days to meet the CAEP national standard.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre
- St Boniface General Hospital
- Children's Emergency
Show all 11Show fewer
- Grace Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
- Concordia Hospital
- Seven Oaks General Hospital
- Selkirk Regional Health Centre
- Portage District General Hospital
- Brandon Regional Health Centre
- Thompson General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- HALO (High-Acuity-Low-Occurrence) procedure preparedness curriculum in a simulation lab.
- Rural EM rotation options include remote Thompson, about 750 km north of Winnipeg.
- Academic full day partially shared with the FRCPC emergency medicine program.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (Tertiary) (16 weeks · Health Sciences Centre and St. Boniface General Hospital)
- Emergency Medicine (Community) (4 weeks · Grace Hospital)
- Urgent Care (4 weeks · Seven Oaks Hospital or Victoria Hospital or Concordia Hospital)
- Emergency Medicine (Rural) (4 weeks · Brandon, Thompson, Portage la Prairie, or Selkirk)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · The Children’s Hospital of Winnipeg)
- Medical ICU (4 weeks · HSC or St. Boniface General Hospital)
- Surgical ICU or M/SICU (4 weeks · HSC or St. Boniface General Hospital)
- Gold Surgery (Trauma) (4 weeks · HSC)
- Cardiology (4 weeks · St Boniface General Hospital)
- Anesthesia (Adult) (4 weeks · Tertiary, Community, or Rural Hospital)
- Neurology (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · 1 week · HSC Stroke 25 Service)
- Ophthalmology (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · 2 Days)
- EMS Ride Along (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · 2 Days)
- Family Medicine Clinics (Optional) (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · RAAM Day Clinic)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 14 and 15 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
- St Boniface General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Children's Emergency (Winnipeg)
- Grace Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Victoria Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Concordia Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Seven Oaks General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Selkirk Regional Health Centre (Selkirk · rural or distributed site)
- Portage District General Hospital (Portage la Prairie · rural or distributed site)
- Brandon Regional Health Centre (Brandon · rural or distributed site)
- Thompson General Hospital (Thompson · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Shara Werestiuk
FRCPC-EM Program Administrator
Collette Thiessen
Enhanced Skills Program Administrator
Program director
Dr. Robert Gourlay
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- University of Manitoba Department of Emergency Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- Shared Health Emergency Medicine Resources(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%