Skip to content
residency.fyi

Winnipeg - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

CaRMS program description, FM/ES 2027 match, last approved 27 Jul 2026

Positions (approx. quota)
3 positions
Length
1 year
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
34542

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This 1-year Addiction Medicine enhanced skills program runs as a 13-block schedule of rotations including withdrawal management, an addiction consult service at HSC/SBH, and pain management.
  • Training includes a Northern/Remote block, an out-of-province rotation with travel funding, and longitudinal addiction clinic exposure.
  • Each resident is expected to complete a scholarly project, which may be a literature review, quality improvement project, or research.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Sites

5 teaching sites

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • SBH
  • AU
Show all 5
  • MWMS
  • Nine Circles
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Required out-of-province rotation with funding available to support travel.
  • Residents present at national virtual CSAM journal club and complex case rounds at least once yearly.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Academic block “bootcamp” – first 2 weeks (0.5 blocks)
  • Hospital based Withdrawal management (1 block · AU)
  • Community based withdrawal management (1 block · MWMS)
  • Addiction Consult Service (2 blocks · HSC/SBH)
  • Bed-based treatment program - 2 weeks men’s, 2 weeks women’s (1 block)
  • RAAM (0.5 block)
  • Primary Care + Addiction + HIV (0.5 block · Nine Circles)
  • Northern/Remote (1 block)
  • Co-occurring disorders (CODI) (1 block)
  • Pain management - 2 weeks acute pain service, 2 weeks chronic pain clinic (1 block)
  • Longitudinal (may vary dependent on interest and experience) - OAT clinic, CARMA clinic, RAAM, contingency management (longitudinal)
  • Out-of-Province Selective (1 block)
  • Electives (1.5 blocks)
  • Vacation (1 block (4 weeks))

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$83,372 / year

One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
  • SBH (Winnipeg)
  • AU (Winnipeg)
  • MWMS (Winnipeg)
  • Nine Circles (Winnipeg)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

collette.thiessen@umanitoba.ca

Collette Thiessen · Administrative Assistant

Program director

  • Dr. Erin Knight

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

More links

Links the program published on CaRMS

Location

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−16.3 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
July average
19.5 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
Snowfall
126.2 cm a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
Days below −20 °C
51.9 days a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Winnipeg, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
749,607 people up 6.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
27.3% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.2% · non-permanent residents: 4.1%
Indigenous identity
12.4% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0% Average commute: 21.8 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$80,000 before tax $69,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 758,515 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.146 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.8% October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$55,813 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Winnipeg, Manitoba, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
5.0% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.4 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 8 Oct 2026.