Vancouver - Medical Microbiology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Microbiology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35370
Summary
- UBC Medical Microbiology is a 5-year Royal College residency based at Vancouver teaching hospitals and participating community hospitals.
- Training includes 2 years of Medical Microbiology, 1 year of Infectious Diseases, and 1 year of elective and research time.
- A one-month community hospital rotation is required.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Public health agency
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- BC Children's and Women's Hospital (CW)
- St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 7Show fewer
- BC Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- 12-week foundations course; core residents help prepare its curriculum for junior colleagues.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Medical Microbiology (transition to discipline)
- Infectious Diseases (transition to discipline)
- Internal Medicine (transition to discipline)
- Infection Prevention and Control (core training · 2 blocks)
- Antimicrobial Stewardship (core training · 2 blocks)
- senior consultant rotation (core training · 2 blocks)
- senior Laboratory Management (core training · 2 blocks)
- Medical Microbiology, including Infection Prevention and Control, Antimicrobial Stewardship, and Laboratory Management (Foundational Training, Core Training, Transition to Practice · 2 years)
- Infectious Diseases (including at least 7 blocks of inpatient Infectious Diseases training) (Foundational Training, Core Training, Transition to Practice · 1 year)
- elective and research time (Foundational Training, Core Training, Transition to Practice · 1 year)
- community hospital (one-month)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Children's and Women's Hospital (CW) (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC) (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
BC Children's and Women's Hospital (CW)
BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 1 position open after round 2 in 2018, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Christopher Lowe
Faculty profile of Dr. Christopher Lowe(opens in a new tab)
Hospital-acquired infections; Multidrug resistant gram negative organisms; Respiratory viruses; Hepatitis B resistance
Dr. Michael Payne
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage