Vancouver - Medical Genetics and Genomics
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Genetics and Genomics
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35836
Summary
- UBC's five-year Medical Genetics and Genomics residency trains at tertiary academic hospitals and laboratories in Greater Vancouver, with core clinical service centralized at BC Children's Hospital and Women's Health Centre.
- Years 1 and 2 are mainly off-service in Pediatrics, Internal Medicine, MFM, and Reproductive Psychiatry or Palliative Care; years 3-5 include clinical genetics, 6 months of laboratory genetics and graduate-level course work.
- Each resident completes a scholarly project during years 3 to 5.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- BC Children's Hospital
- BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre
- Vancouver General Hospital
Show all 7Show fewer
- BC Cancer, Vancouver Centre
- Saint Paul's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- UBC Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Senior residents run a dedicated Resident Clinic, handling 3-5 new patients per clinic and all follow-up.
- Residents complete upper-level course work within the UBC Medical Genetics Graduate Program.
- Interview includes a 10-minute presentation on a medical genetics topic of the candidate's choice.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Pediatrics (years 1 and 2)
- Internal Medicine (years 1 and 2)
- Maternal-Fetal Medicine (MFM) (years 1 and 2)
- Reproductive Psychiatry or Palliative Care (years 1 and 2)
- clinical genetics (years 3-5)
- laboratory genetics (years 3-5 · 6 months)
- clinical Biochemical Disease Service (three months · BC Children's Hospital)
- Adult Biochemical Genetics (1 month · Vancouver General Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer, Vancouver Centre (Vancouver)
- Saint Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- UBC Hospital (Vancouver)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
BC Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Saint Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
UBC Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Katherine Blood
Co-Program Director
Dr. Elizabeth Digby
Co-Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage