Vancouver - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36259
Summary
- UBC's Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology program in Vancouver is a 5-year residency.
- PGY1 begins with 4 clinical blocks at St. Paul's and Royal Columbian hospitals, followed by pathology rotations starting at Vancouver General Hospital.
- Residents complete two forensic pathology blocks and a required community hospital rotation, and must submit an abstract to a conference.
- PGY5 offers a 4-block Area of Special Interest mini-fellowship after the Royal College oral exam.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- BC Cancer Agency
- BC Children's Hospital (BCCH)
Show all 9Show fewer
- St. Paul's Hospital
- BC Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC)
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Burnaby General Hospital
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- PGY5 'Area of Special Interest' mini-fellowship, with the designation noted on the UBC PGME graduation certificate.
- Residents take part as survey members in lab accreditation through the CPSBC Diagnostic Accreditation Program.
- Residents get access to the ASCP Lab Management University program starting in third year.
By year
- PGY-1
- Basic Clinical Year (BCY)4 clinical rotation blocks
- orientation block
- general surgical pathology signout
Other rotations
- forensic pathology (two blocks · Burnaby General Hospital/Surrey Memorial Hospital and at Abbotsford Regional Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1 and 2 Feb 2027
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer Agency
- BC Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Burnaby General Hospital (Burnaby)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital (Abbotsford)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
BC Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Burnaby General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,388
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,058
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Abbotsford Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,232
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,667
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. David Farnell
Faculty profile of Dr. David Farnell(opens in a new tab)
Areas of expertise are Endometrial Cancer, Ovarian Cancer, Subcutaneous Emphysema, and Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency (AATD).
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage