Skip to content
CdnMD

Trois-Pistoles - Médecine familiale

Université LavalTrois-Pistoles, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved date not on file

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
6 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Médecine familiale
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Not stated on CaRMS page
CaRMS program ID
29917

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The Université Laval Family Medicine Residency Program at Trois-Pistoles offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on developing versatile, patient-centered family physicians. The program emphasizes continuity of care, generalist practice, and provides immersive training in both urban and rural settings with diverse clinical experiences.

Training

Research
Residents can engage in scholarly projects, including quality improvement initiatives and optional research-focused tracks like the 'Clinician Scholar' program.
Training setting
Training occurs in two complementary sites: the GMF-U of Trois-Pistoles (population 9,000) and the Centre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage in Rivière-du-Loup (population 85,400), offering diverse clinical experiences in rural and semi-urban settings.
Teaching approach
The program emphasizes competency-based medical education, focusing on developing well-rounded family physicians through longitudinal learning, direct supervision, and progressive independence in clinical skills.
Setting types
  • Rural medical center
  • Community hospital
  • University-affiliated medical group
Focus areas
  • Family Medicine
  • Rural Medicine
  • Primary Care
  • Comprehensive Healthcare
  • Community-Based Medicine
Patient populations
  • All age groups
  • Chronic disease patients
  • Pediatric patients
  • Obstetric patients
  • Geriatric patients
  • Palliative care patients
  • Vulnerable populations
  • First Nations communities
Highlights
  • Integrated curriculum with longitudinal experiences
  • 13 diverse training sites
  • Simulation training at Centre Apprentiss
  • Optional specialized tracks
  • Interprofessional learning environment
  • Introduction to targeted ultrasound training
  • International health exposure
  • Pedagogical innovation
  • Personalized learning paths
Strengths
  • National leadership in medical education
  • Innovative evaluation tools
  • Comprehensive clinical training
  • Strong focus on rural medicine
  • Flexible and personalized learning paths
  • Extensive clinical exposure
  • Interprofessional collaboration
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Sports and Exercise Medicine
  • Geriatric Care
  • Clinician Scholar
  • Perinatal Care
  • Chronic Pain Management

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine GMF-UTrois-Pistoles7-9 weeks
  • Internal MedicineCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage3-4 weeks
  • PediatricsCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage3-4 weeks
  • Perinatal CareCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage3-4 weeks
  • EmergencyCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage3-4 weeks
  • Women's HealthTrois-Pistoles1-2 weeks
  • HospitalizationCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage1 week
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine GMF-UTrois-Pistoles3-4 weeks
  • MusculoskeletalCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage3-4 weeks
  • Optional RotationVarious3-4 weeks
  • Regional Family MedicineVarious3-4 weeks
  • PsychiatryCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage3-4 weeks
  • Palliative CareMaison Desjardins de Rivière-du-Loup1-2 weeks
  • GeriatricsCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage1-2 weeks
  • EmergencyCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage1-2 weeks
  • HospitalizationCentre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage1 week

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • CProMF exam
  • Medical student performance record (DREM)
  • Medical school transcripts
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Interview performance
  • Clinical skills assessment
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
20 janvier 2026; 21 janvier 2026; 22 janvier 2026; 23 janvier 2026; 27 janvier 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • Centre hospitalier de Trois-Pistoles
  • Centre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage
  • Maison Desjardins de Rivière-du-Loup

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 9 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Trois-Pistoles.

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Location

Trois-Pistoles, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−12.5 °C Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away
July average
17.3 °C Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away
Snowfall
281.1 cm a year Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away
Days below −20 °C
22.9 days a year Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Trois-Pistoles, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
3,115 people down 4.0% from 2016
Official languages
English only not reported · French only 80.6% · English and French 19.4% · neither not reported Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
1.0% of residents arrived 2016–2021: not reported · non-permanent residents: not reported
Indigenous identity
1.7% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 83.1% · public transit 1.0% · walking or cycling 14.4% · other 2.1% Average commute: 13.2 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$48,000 before tax $43,200 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Trois-Pistoles, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 3,031 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.352 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$47,106 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Quebec, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.