Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Pediatrics

University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 9 Sep 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
14 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Pediatrics
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
30171

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The University of Toronto's Core Paediatric Residency Program offers comprehensive training in pediatrics across diverse clinical settings. Located primarily at The Hospital for Sick Children, the program provides broad-based clinical and academic training with a focus on creating exceptional general and subspecialty pediatricians. Residents benefit from an inclusive, supportive environment with extensive research opportunities and a commitment to advocacy and social responsibility.

Training

Research
Residents are expected to complete at least one scholarly project, with dedicated research time, mentorship, and opportunities for concentrated research blocks.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center with multiple hospital sites across Toronto, including tertiary and community hospitals. Training occurs at 13 different sites, with primary focus on The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids).
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing the seven CanMEDS roles and providing graded responsibility throughout the four-year training program.
Setting types
  • Academic medical center
  • Tertiary care center
  • Community hospitals
  • Rural hospitals
  • Rehabilitation center
  • Mental health center
Focus areas
  • General Pediatrics
  • Pediatric Subspecialties
  • Child Advocacy
  • Patient Safety
  • Child Health Policy
  • Global Child Health
  • Medical Education
  • Research
Patient populations
  • Pediatric patients from newborns to adolescents
  • Community pediatric populations
  • Complex medical cases
  • Rural and urban patient populations
  • Mental health patients
  • Developmental and rehabilitation patients
Highlights
  • Competence By Design (CBD) Curriculum
  • Research Mentorship Program
  • Concentrated Research Block (up to 3 months)
  • Career Counselling Program
  • Resident Retreats
  • Wellness Committee
  • Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee
  • International Elective Opportunities
  • Protected Academic Half-Day
  • Resident Engagement Events
Strengths
  • Renowned research infrastructure
  • Diverse clinical exposure
  • Strong advocacy and social responsibility focus
  • Comprehensive subspecialty training
  • Excellent mentorship opportunities
  • Commitment to equity and inclusion
Enhanced skills
  • Global Child Health
  • Medical Education
  • Research Skills
  • Advocacy
  • Leadership Development

By year

PGY-1
  • Adolescent MedicineBlocks not specified
  • Care of the NewbornBlocks not specified
  • Community PaediatricsBlocks not specified
  • Paediatric EmergencyBlocks not specified
  • Paediatric Infectious DiseaseBlocks not specified
  • Immunology and Allergy/DermatologyBlocks not specified
  • Paediatric In-PatientBlocks not specified
  • Paediatric General SurgeryBlocks not specified
  • Paediatric UrologyBlocks not specified
  • ResearchBlocks not specified
PGY-2
  • ElectivePotentially outside Toronto4 weeks
  • Paediatric CardiologyBlocks not specified
  • Developmental PaediatricsBlocks not specified
  • EndocrinologyBlocks not specified
  • Gastroenterology/Clinical NutritionBlocks not specified
  • OncologyBlocks not specified
  • NephrologyBlocks not specified
  • NeurologyBlocks not specified
  • RespirologyBlocks not specified
  • RheumatologyBlocks not specified
  • Neonatal Intensive CareBlocks not specified
PGY-3
  • ElectivePotentially outside Toronto4 weeks
  • Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU)Blocks not specified
  • Emergency Room MedicineBlocks not specified
  • Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine (Level III)Blocks not specified
  • Neonatal Medicine (Level II)Blocks not specified
  • Genetics-MetabolicsBlocks not specified
  • Suspected Child Abuse and NeglectBlocks not specified
  • Mental HealthBlocks not specified
  • Ambulatory ExperienceBlocks not specified
  • Paediatric Intensive Care UnitBlocks not specified
PGY-4
  • Transition to Practice RotationsApproximately 9 blocks
  • Community PaediatricsBlocks not specified

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • CV review
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Research/scholarly activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Mini Personal Interviews (MPI)
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2026; 2, 3 and 4 Feb 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
  • Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation
  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • North York General Hospital
  • Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Regional Health
  • Owen Sound Regional Hospital
  • Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)
  • St. Joseph's Hospital
  • St. Michael's Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • SickKids Center for Community Mental Health

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Toronto, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−3.5 °C Toronto (City), 11.0 km away
July average
22.5 °C Toronto (City), 11.0 km away
Snowfall
114.5 cm a year Toronto Pearson (Airport), 12.7 km away
Days below −20 °C
1.6 days a year Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Toronto, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
2,794,356 people up 2.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
46.6% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 7.2% · non-permanent residents: 5.3%
Indigenous identity
0.8% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2% Average commute: 30.7 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$84,000 before tax $74,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 5,647,656 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.000 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
3.0% October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$62,880 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Toronto, Ontario, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.9% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.3 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine (NOC 31100) in the Toronto region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.