Toronto - Orthopedic Surgery
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioIMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- IMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35499
Summary
- This 5-year orthopaedic surgery residency trains residents across seven core hospital divisions in Toronto, with community sites in the Greater Toronto Area.
- PGY-1 begins with a month-long surgical boot camp at the Surgical Skills Centre at Mount Sinai Hospital.
- Every resident must complete a research project and submit a publishable manuscript, and IMG trainees must fulfil an Ontario return-of-service commitment.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
12 teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Michael's Hospital
Show all 12Show fewer
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- University Health Network - Toronto Western Hospital
- Michael Garron Hospital (formerly Toronto East General Hospital)
- Women's College Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- William Osler Etobicoke site
- North York General Hospital
- Southlake Hospital
- Trillium Hospital in Mississauga
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Month-long Prep and Surgical Boot Camp at the start of PGY-1 teaching fundamental orthopaedic surgical skills.
- Ran a pilot competency-based curriculum starting in 2009, before national Competence by Design.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Prep Camp/Surgical Boot Camp
- Transition to Residency
- Basic Fractures
- Emergency Orthopaedics
- Basic Arthroplasty
- Basic Sports
- Basic Pediatrics
- Spine
- Foot and Ankle
- Hand and Upper Extremity
- MSK Medicine
- Oncology
- Advanced Trauma
- Advanced Arthroplasty
- Advanced Sports
- Advanced Pediatrics
- Research (integrated throughout the clinical training years)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- University Health Network - Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- Michael Garron Hospital (formerly Toronto East General Hospital) (Toronto)
- Women's College Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- William Osler Etobicoke site
- North York General Hospital
- Southlake Hospital
- Trillium Hospital in Mississauga (Mississauga)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
orthopaedics.admin@utoronto.ca
Shared by Polina Mironova · Program Coordinator and Joanna Ascenzi · Program Administrator
Program director
Dr. Jeremy Hall
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage