Thunder Bay - Emergency Medicine
NOSM UniversityThunder Bay, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36027
Summary
- NOSM University's five-year Royal College Emergency Medicine program is a newer program based in Thunder Bay, Ontario.
- Most rotations are in Thunder Bay, with mandatory core rotations in northern Ontario communities, Sudbury, Winnipeg and London.
- NOSM University financially supports housing and travel for core rotations, and Transition to Practice includes 6 blocks in an Area of Special Interest.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Western University
- University of Manitoba
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Northern
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Weekly academic days shared virtually with the University of Manitoba's EM program, plus required EM/Trauma rotation in Winnipeg.
- Ultrasound curriculum designed so all residents reach Independent Practitioner status.
- Required community emergency medicine rotations across northern Ontario communities such as Kenora and Timmins.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- core Emergency Medicine (EM) (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 3 blocks)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FoD) · 2 blocks)
- Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline (FoD) · 2 blocks)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FoD) · 2 blocks)
- Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline (FoD) · 1 block)
- Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 22 blocks · NOSM University teaching sites)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (PEM) (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2 blocks · Western University (London, ON))
- Community Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2 blocks · Kenora, North Bay, Sault Ste. Marie and Timmins)
- EM/ Trauma (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2 blocks · University of Manitoba (Winnipeg, AB))
- Intensive Care Unit (ICU) (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 3 blocks)
- Selectives (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2)
- Longitudinal Toxicology exposure including course work (Core of Discipline (CoD))
- Anesthesia (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- Cardiac Care Unit (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block · Sudbury, ON)
- Emergency Medical Services (EMS) (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- Elective (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- General Surgery (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- Obstetrics (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- Orthopedics (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- Plastic Surgery (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- Transport Medicine (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 block)
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 6 blocks)
- Community Emergency Medicine (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 1 block · Kenora, North Bay, Sault Ste. Marie and Timmins)
- Area of Special Interest (ASI) (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 6 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Western University (London)
- University of Manitoba (Winnipeg)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jonathan Smith
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Thunder Bay, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −13.4 °C
- July average
- 18.0 °C
- Snowfall
- not reported
- Days below −20 °C
- 42.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 108,843 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.0% · neither 0.5%
- Immigrants
- 8.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 14.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 88.5% · public transit 3.8% · walking or cycling 5.9% · other 1.8%
- Median household income
- $77,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Thunder Bay, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.295
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage