Skip to content
CdnMD

Sussex - Saint John - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine

Dalhousie UniversitySussex, New BrunswickCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 11 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
3 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35385

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This three-year program integrates the two-year Family Medicine curriculum with the one-year Enhanced Skills in Emergency Medicine program.
  • The home site is Sussex, New Brunswick, with additional rotations in Saint John.
  • Residents spend 6 months in the Saint John Regional Hospital Emergency Department and become independent POCUS practitioners in second year.
  • A scholarly project is required, with protected time.

Training

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

6 teaching sites

  • Sussex Health Centre
  • Saint John Regional Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Hospital
Show all 6
  • St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre
  • Charlotte County Hospital
  • IWK Health Centre

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Integrated FM-EM program developed in 2010, described as the first of its kind in Canada.
  • Includes preparation for both the CCFP and CCFP (EM) exams within one integrated three-year program.
  • Weekly emergency department shifts continue throughout core family medicine rotations over all three years.

By year

PGY-1
  • Community Family MedicineSussex10 weeks
  • Core Family MedicineSussex NB8 weeks
  • Intro to Family Medicine4 weeks
  • Intro to Emergency MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital (SJRH) Emergency Department4 weeks
  • General MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Obstetrics/GynecologySaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Geriatric MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital and St. Joseph’s Hospital4 weeks
  • Palliative CareSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • OrthopedicsSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • PediatricsSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
  • AnesthesiaSaint John2 weeks
PGY-2
  • Core Family MedicineSussex16 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineSussex12 weeks
  • Reproductive Health4 weeks
  • General MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Pediatric Emergency MedicineIWK Health Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia4 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital (SJRH) Emergency Department4 weeks
  • Elective(s)4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
  • Surgical SkillsSaint John Regional Hospital2 weeks
PGY-3
  • Emergency MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital (SJRH) Emergency Department16 weeks
  • Core Family MedicineSussex8 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineSussex8 weeks
  • Intensive Care UnitSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Cardiac Care Unit4 weeks
  • Critical Care Selectives4 weeks
  • Trauma SelectiveSt. Mike’s or Sunnybrook in Toronto (location TBD)4 weeks
  • Elective(s)4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 1 Oct 2026. Dates and times are as the program wrote them, not converted to your time zone. Programs add and change sessions: confirm with the program.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year

One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Frequency of call
l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • Sussex Health Centre (Sussex)
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John)
  • St. Joseph's Hospital (Saint John)
  • St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre (Saint John)
  • Charlotte County Hospital (rural or distributed site)
  • IWK Health Centre (Halifax)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Sussex Health Centre

Matched to Sussex Health Centre / Centre de Santé de Sussex (Sussex) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
25 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

St. Joseph's Hospital

Matched to St. Joseph's Hospital / Hôpital St. Joseph (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
103 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.
Show facts for 3 more sites

St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre

Matched to St. Joseph's Hospital / Hôpital St. Joseph (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
103 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Charlotte County Hospital

Matched to Charlotte County Hospital / Hôpital du Comté de Charlotte (St. Stephen) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
44 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

IWK Health Centre

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

Program Information

fmresidency@dal.ca

James Logan · Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Program director

  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites

FMEM Saint John / Sussex

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Sussex, New Brunswick

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−7.9 °C Sussex/Four Corners, 2.5 km away
July average
19.7 °C Sussex/Four Corners, 2.5 km away
Snowfall
247.7 cm a year Sussex/Four Corners, 2.5 km away
Days below −20 °C
12.3 days a year Sussex/Four Corners, 2.5 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Sussex, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
4,440 people up 3.7% from 2016
Official languages
English only 86.6% · French only not reported · English and French 13.0% · neither 0.3% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
4.6% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.3% · non-permanent residents: 1.7%
Indigenous identity
2.1% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 86.4% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 11.1% · other 2.8% Average commute: 15.8 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$54,800 before tax $50,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Sussex, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 5,447 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.319 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$50,975 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, New Brunswick, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.