Sudbury - Anesthesiology
NOSM UniversitySudbury, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36386
Summary
- NOSM University's anesthesiology residency is a 5-year program, with training mostly in Sudbury or Thunder Bay and clinical experiences at other centres across Northern Ontario.
- Residents complete a mandatory three-month rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto.
- Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project, which may be research or quality improvement.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
14 teaching sites
- Health Sciences North (HSN)
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)
- North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC)
Show all 14Show fewer
- Sault Area Hospital (SAH)
- Hospital for Sick Children
- Dryden District Health Centre
- Lake of the Woods District Hospital
- Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre
- Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare
- Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc.
- St. Joseph’s Care Group
- Temiskaming Hospital
- Timmins and District Hospital
- Notre Dame Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- First anesthesiology program in Canada to implement components of a competency-based curriculum, starting in 2013.
- Residents are not needed for day-to-day hospital functioning, so the balance tilts toward education over service.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- mandatory three-month rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children (three-month · Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences North (HSN) (Sudbury)
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) (Thunder Bay)
- North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC) (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
- Sault Area Hospital (SAH) (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Dryden District Health Centre (Dryden · rural or distributed site)
- Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
- Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre (Sioux Lookout · rural or distributed site)
- Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare (rural or distributed site)
- Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc. (Fort Frances · rural or distributed site)
- St. Joseph’s Care Group (rural or distributed site)
- Temiskaming Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- Timmins and District Hospital (Timmins · rural or distributed site)
- Notre Dame Hospital (Hearst · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Sarah McIsaac
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −12.7 °C
- July average
- 19.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 263.4 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 27.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 166,004 people
- Official languages
- English only 62.3% · French only 0.9% · English and French 36.6% · neither 0.2%
- Immigrants
- 6.0% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.0% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.9% · public transit 4.1% · walking or cycling 3.8% · other 2.1%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sudbury, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.271
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 1.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage