Skip to content
residency.fyi

South East (Weyburn) - Family Medicine

University of SaskatchewanSouth East (Weyburn), SaskatchewanCompetitive stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 8 Sep 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
30994

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The South East Family Medicine Residency Training Program is a geographically distributed program offering training in Yorkton, Weyburn, and Moosomin. Residents match with one of three home base communities and maintain continuity throughout training, focusing on becoming competent rural generalist family physicians with broad scopes of practice.

Training

Research
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training setting
Distributed rural and regional training sites in southeastern Saskatchewan, including Weyburn (population ~12,000), with training across small community hospitals and regional centers.
Teaching approach
Learner-centered, competency-based medical education with an emphasis on developing confident, skilled family physicians capable of practicing in rural and underserved communities.
Setting types
  • Rural hospital
  • Community hospital
  • Regional medical center
Focus areas
  • Rural Medicine
  • Rural Generalist Family Medicine
  • Comprehensive Primary Care
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Underserved Populations
Patient populations
  • Rural populations
  • Underserved communities
  • Indigenous populations
  • Acute care patients
  • Long-term care patients
  • Palliative care patients
Highlights
  • Low resident to faculty ratio
  • Personalized mentorship
  • Extensive emergency room learning
  • Mandatory 4-week rotation at All Nations Healing Hospital
  • Virtual academic half-day programming
  • In-person simulation days
  • Flexibility in elective time
Strengths
  • Strong rural medicine training
  • Comprehensive clinical exposure
  • High procedural skills development
  • Flexible learning environment
  • Emphasis on community-based care
Enhanced skills
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrics
  • Minor Procedures

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine33 weeks
  • Electives6 weeks
  • Women's Health/Obstetrics3 weeks
  • Psychiatry3 weeks
  • Anesthesia2 weeks
  • General Surgery2 weeks
  • Orientation1 week
  • Consolidation Week1 week
  • Seasonal Slowdown1 week
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine27 weeks
  • FM Remote/Underserviced4-6 weeks
  • Electives6 weeks
  • Obstetrics Tertiary/Regional4 weeks
  • Hospitalist/Internal Medicine4 weeks
  • Pediatrics ER2 weeks
  • Exam Week1 week
  • Consolidation Week1 week
  • Seasonal Slowdown1 week

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • Casper test
  • FMProC assessment
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Medical school transcript
  • Interview performance
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
21, 22, 23 and 24 Jan 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year

One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Frequency of call
1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Weyburn General Hospital
  • All Nations Healing Hospital

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Location

South East (Weyburn), Saskatchewan

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−13.9 °C Estevan, 80.5 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
July average
19.1 °C Estevan, 80.5 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
Snowfall
117.8 cm a year Estevan, 80.5 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
Days below −20 °C
41.9 days a year Estevan, 80.5 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Weyburn, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
11,019 people up 1.4% from 2016
Official languages
English only 98.0% · French only not reported · English and French 1.7% · neither 0.3% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
11.3% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 3.4% · non-permanent residents: 0.9%
Indigenous identity
4.0% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 92.2% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 1.6% Average commute: 15.4 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$80,000 before tax $70,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Weyburn, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 10,883 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.340 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$51,502 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Saskatchewan, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Very good The employment outlook will be Very good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Regina - Moose Mountain region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 5 Oct 2026.