Skip to content
residency.fyi

Sherbrooke - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology

Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 9 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
3 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35801

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This is a 5-year diagnostic and molecular pathology residency at Université de Sherbrooke, with most rotations held within the Sherbrooke program.
  • At least 9 periods take place in affiliated programs, including bone and soft tissue, forensic, pediatric, neuro- and nephropathology and autopsy, and hematopathology is done at an affiliated centre.
  • Teaching is organised by subspecialty and includes longitudinal teaching in gross examination and microscopy.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

11 teaching sites

  • CHUS Hôpital Fleurimont
  • CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (HCLM, Longueuil)
Show all 11
  • CHUM
  • CHU Sainte-Justine
  • CUSM
  • Hôpital Général Juif
  • Laboratoire des sciences judiciaires et de médecine légale
  • Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosement
  • CHUQ - Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
  • CHUQ - Hôpital Enfant-Jésus de Québec

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training language
French
Highlights
  • Residents follow their own cases from gross examination through microscopy, taking charge of whole cases longitudinally.

By year

PGY-1
  • Introduction à la pathologieSanté Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie générale junior (1)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • GastroentérologieSanté Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • DermatologieSanté Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Obstétrique-gynécologieSanté Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Chirurgie généraleSanté Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Radio-oncologieSanté Québec Estrie-CHUS
PGY-2
  • Pathologie digestive (1)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Autopsie (2)CHUM
  • Cytopathologie (1)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie pulmonaire et thoracique (1)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie ORL-endocrinienne (1)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie mammaire (1)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie digestive (2)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
PGY-3
  • Hématopathologie (1)HCLM
  • NeuropathologieCHUQ-HEJ
  • Cytopathologie (2)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Option (1)
  • Pathologie pédiatriqueCUSM/HSJ
  • Pathologie mammaire (2)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie urologique (2)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
PGY-4
  • Pathologie hépatique et pancréatique (et digestive)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie digestive (et hépatique et pancréatique)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Cytopathologie (3)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie pulmonaire et thoracique (2)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie ORL-endocrinienne (2)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Hématopathologie (2)HCLM
  • Pathologie générale sénior (1)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
PGY-5
  • Option (3)
  • Option (4)
  • Cytopathologie (4)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie digestive (3)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Dermatopathologie (3)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Pathologie urologique (3)Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS
  • Option (5)

From the program's rotation list.

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Pathologie urologique (1) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Néphropathologie (HMR/CUSM)
  • Pathologie générale sénior (2) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Gynécopathologie (1) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Gynécopathologie (2) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Gynécopathologie (3) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Gynécopathologie (4) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • ORL (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Dermatopathologie (1) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Dermatopathologie (2) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Pathologie mammaire (3) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Autopsie (1) (IUCPQ/CHUM)
  • Recherche (1) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Recherche (2) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Option (6)
  • Pathologie générale junior (2) (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Biologie moléculaire (Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS)
  • Pathologie os et tissus mous (CHUQ-HD/CUSM)
  • Option (7)
  • Pathologie judiciaire (LSJML Montréal)
  • Option (2)
  • Option (8)

Selection

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
1, 2 and 3 Feb 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • CHUS Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
  • CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (HCLM, Longueuil) (Longueuil)
  • CHUM (Montréal)
  • CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
  • CUSM (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal)
  • Laboratoire des sciences judiciaires et de médecine légale (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosement (Montréal)
  • CHUQ - Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
  • CHUQ - Hôpital Enfant-Jésus de Québec (Québec)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

CHUS Hôpital Fleurimont

Matched to CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu

Matched to CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 216 · psychiatry 105 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (HCLM, Longueuil)

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 571 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Show facts for 7 more sites

CHUM

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHU Sainte-Justine

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CUSM

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 56 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
Licensed beds
physical health 90 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.

Hôpital Général Juif

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosement

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUQ - Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUQ - Hôpital Enfant-Jésus de Québec

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 335 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

pathologie-med@usherbrooke.ca

Naomie Gauthier · Secrétaire de direction

Program director

  • Dr(e) Nadia Ekindi-Ndongo

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Sherbrooke, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.5 °C Lennoxville, 9.1 km away
July average
19.7 °C Lennoxville, 9.1 km away
Snowfall
290.6 cm a year Coaticook, 28.5 km away
Days below −20 °C
23.1 days a year Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Sherbrooke, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
172,950 people up 7.2% from 2016
Official languages
English only 1.7% · French only 51.6% · English and French 46.1% · neither 0.7% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
8.8% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.4% · non-permanent residents: 2.2%
Indigenous identity
1.7% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 87.3% · public transit 4.9% · walking or cycling 6.4% · other 1.4% Average commute: 18.3 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$62,400 before tax $55,200 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Sherbrooke, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 151,157 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.156 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.7% October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$47,414 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Quebec, population 100,000 to 499,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
4.0% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.6 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine (NOC 31100) in the Estrie region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 6 Oct 2026.