Saskatoon - Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35369
Summary
- This is a 5-year Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology residency based at Royal University Hospital in Saskatoon.
- Training takes place in Saskatoon and Regina, and senior residents complete a general pathology rotation in Prince Albert.
- Residents are encouraged to do at least one research project, and two research blocks can be scheduled.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- Regina Pasqua Hospital
- Regina General Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Senior residents run the anatomical pathology division and all laboratories during a Prince Albert rotation.
- Twelve residents, described as one of the largest Diagnostic & Clinical Pathology programs in Canada.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Bootcamp (Transition to Discipline)
- general pathology rotation (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Regina Pasqua Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
- Regina General Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Diagnostic & Clinical Pathology Residency Training Program
Program director
Dr. Rani Kanthan
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan(opens in a new tab)
- Medical Council of Canada(opens in a new tab)
- Postgraduate Medical Education - U of S(opens in a new tab)
- Explore the General Pathology program at the U of S(opens in a new tab)
- Anatomical Pathology Video - Dr. Mary Kinloch(opens in a new tab)
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −15.4 °C
- July average
- 18.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 91.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 49.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 266,141 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.1% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.4%
- Immigrants
- 20.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit 3.4% · walking or cycling 5.4% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $85,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saskatoon, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,881 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage