Saint John - Internal Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySaint John, New BrunswickCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 3 years
- CMG
- Internal Medicine
- 401–600
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35689
Summary
- This Dalhousie Internal Medicine stream is based at Saint John Regional Hospital, the largest tertiary care hospital in New Brunswick.
- In PGY1, 9 of 13 rotations are in Saint John, two at the QEII in Halifax and one at Moncton City Hospital, plus a community experience rotation at a Maritime site.
- Accommodation and travel are covered for rotations in Halifax and Moncton.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick)
- QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority)
- Moncton City Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Small program
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Base hospital is New Brunswick's provincial referral centre for cardiac, trauma, stem cell therapy and stroke thrombectomy.
- Free accommodation and travel reimbursement during Halifax and Moncton rotations.
By year
- PGY-1
- Community Experience rotation
- PGY-2
- electivesTwo
- Ambulatory Care Clinic (ACC) rotation
- Coronary Care Unit (CCU) Intensive Care Unit (ICU) rotation
- PGY-3
- electivesTwo
- Ambulatory Care Clinic (ACC) rotations
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 21, 26 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick) (Saint John)
- QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority) (Halifax)
- Moncton City Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick (Moncton)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick)
- Inpatient beds
- 445
QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority)
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Maia von Maltzahn
Program Director
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Aaron LeBlanc
Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Saint John, New Brunswick
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.9 °C
- July average
- 17.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 214.8 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 69,895 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.6% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.6% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 8.1% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.6% · public transit 4.8% · walking or cycling 7.4% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $62,800 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saint John, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.278
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $51,631 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage