Saint-François-d'Assise - Family Medicine
Université LavalSaint-François-d'Assise, QuebecRegular stream
- 15 positions
- 2 years
- Regular
- Family Medicine
- 401–600
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35790
Summary
- This two-year Université Laval family medicine program is based at the GMF-U Saint-François d'Assise, located inside Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise in Québec's Limoilou neighbourhood.
- Training is longitudinal, with hospital and regional rotations of 2 to 4 weeks integrated alongside ongoing clinic activity.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
25 teaching sites
- GMF-U Saint-François d'Assise
- CHUL: Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval
- HDQ: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
Show all 25Show fewer
- HDL: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis
- HEJ: Hôpital l'Enfant-Jésus
- HSS: Hôpital St-Sacrement
- IUCPQ: l'Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
- Amqui
- Baie-Comeau
- Blanc-Sablon
- Chandler
- Chibougamau
- Gaspé
- Havre-Saint-Pierre
- Îles de la Madeleine
- Kuujjuaq
- Les Escoumins
- Matane
- Rimouski
- Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac
- Trois-Pistoles
- Sept-Îles
- Rivière-du-Loup
- Baie St-Paul
- Thetford Mines
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Call
- In-house call · frequency “une fin de semaine par période”
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Other
- Emergency Medicine
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Highlights
- Only in-hospital family medicine teaching unit (GMF-U) in the Laval network.
- Offers a post-residency 'Transition à la pratique' advanced-skills program described as unique in Canada.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Fondation à la médecine de famille (période de transition) (A)
- Pratique ambulatoire au GMF-U, urgence et médecine hospitalière, rencontres avec les professionnels de la santé (A)
- Urgence (B · 4 semaines)
- Médecine familiale + médecine interne (B · 2 semaines)
- Périnatalité (C · 4 semaines)
- Médecine familiale + pédiatrie (C · 2 semaines)
- Stage à option 1 (D · 4 semaines)
- Médecine familiale + région (D · 2 semaines)
- Stage clinique de nuit (E · 4 semaines)
- Médecine familiale + région (E · 2 semaines)
- Stage de médecine hospitalière (F · 4 semaines)
- Médecine familiale + équité en santé (F · 2 semaines)
- Stage à option 2 (G · 4 semaines)
- Médecine familiale + région (G · 2 semaines)
- Soins aux personnes âgées et soins palliatifs (H · 4 semaines)
- Médecine familiale + santé mentale (H · 2 semaines)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- GMF-U Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- CHUL: Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- HDQ: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- HDL: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
- HEJ: Hôpital l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- HSS: Hôpital St-Sacrement (Québec)
- IUCPQ: l'Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (Québec)
- Amqui (Amqui · rural or distributed site)
- Baie-Comeau (Baie-Comeau · rural or distributed site)
- Blanc-Sablon (Blanc-Sablon · rural or distributed site)
- Chandler (Chandler · rural or distributed site)
- Chibougamau (Chibougamau · rural or distributed site)
- Gaspé (Gaspé · rural or distributed site)
- Havre-Saint-Pierre (Havre-Saint-Pierre · rural or distributed site)
- Îles de la Madeleine (Îles de la Madeleine · rural or distributed site)
- Kuujjuaq (Kuujjuaq · rural or distributed site)
- Les Escoumins (Les Escoumins · rural or distributed site)
- Matane (Matane · rural or distributed site)
- Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)
- Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac (Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac · rural or distributed site)
- Trois-Pistoles (Trois-Pistoles · rural or distributed site)
- Sept-Îles (Sept-Îles · rural or distributed site)
- Rivière-du-Loup (Rivière-du-Loup · rural or distributed site)
- Baie St-Paul (Baie St-Paul · rural or distributed site)
- Thetford Mines (Thetford Mines · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUL: Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
HDQ: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
HDL: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
- Licensed beds
- physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
HEJ: Hôpital l'Enfant-Jésus
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
HSS: Hôpital St-Sacrement
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
IUCPQ: l'Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
- Licensed beds
- physical health 338
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir
admission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca
Équipe Admission · Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval
Program director
Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir
Dr Alain Naud
Directeur du GMF-U de Saint-François d'Assise
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Saint-François-d'Assise, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage