Skip to content
CdnMD

Regional New Brunswick - Internal Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityRegional New Brunswick, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 9 Oct 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Internal Medicine
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
29193

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The Dalhousie University Internal Medicine Regional New Brunswick program offers comprehensive training across multiple sites, including Halifax, Saint John, and Moncton. Residents gain in-depth experience in all disciplines of internal medicine through a graded responsibility model, with opportunities to train in diverse clinical settings and develop strong clinical skills.

Training

Research
Residents participate in a two-month Research Methods course, have access to research support, and can complete research electives or longitudinal research projects.
Training setting
Multi-site training across urban and community hospitals in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, including QE II Health Sciences Centre, Saint John Regional Hospital, and The Moncton Hospital.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education with progressive responsibility, emphasizing graded learning, interprofessional collaboration, and comprehensive clinical skill development.
Setting types
  • Academic medical center
  • Community hospital
  • Tertiary care center
Focus areas
  • General Internal Medicine
  • Community Medicine
  • Academic Medicine
  • Rural Medicine
Patient populations
  • Inpatients
  • Outpatients
  • Community Medicine Patients
  • Tertiary Care Patients
Highlights
  • Research Methods Course
  • Scholarly Activity Support
  • Conference Funding
  • Simulation Training
  • POCUS Training
  • Academic Half Days
  • Journal Club
  • Longitudinal Research Elective
Strengths
  • Comprehensive training across multiple sites
  • Strong research and scholarly activity support
  • Diverse clinical experiences
  • Supportive learning environment
  • Guaranteed 4-year training program
Enhanced skills
  • POCUS Training
  • Simulation Training
  • Research Skills

By year

PGY-1
  • NeurologyThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • EndocrinologyThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • Geriatric MedicineThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • ICUThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • General Internal MedicineThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • CCUThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • Medicine Teaching UnitQEII Health Sciences CentreBlocks not specified
  • HematologySaint John Regional HospitalBlocks not specified
  • NephrologySaint John Regional HospitalBlocks not specified
  • Selective RotationSaint John Regional HospitalBlocks not specified
PGY-2
  • RespirologyThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • RheumatologyThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • Infectious DiseaseThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • GastroenterologyThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • General Internal MedicineThe Moncton HospitalBlocks not specified
  • Medicine Teaching UnitSaint JohnBlocks not specified
  • CCUSaint JohnBlocks not specified
  • Ambulatory ClinicsSaint JohnBlocks not specified
  • ICUHalifaxBlocks not specified
  • Community RotationVarious Maritime locationsBlocks not specified
PGY-3
  • ElectivesVaries2 blocks
  • Ambulatory Care ClinicHalifaxBlocks not specified
  • Medicine Teaching UnitHalifaxBlocks not specified

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • CV
  • Elective evaluations
  • Interview performance
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
9 and 12 Jan 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Frequency of call
l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • QE II Health Sciences Centre
  • Saint John Regional Hospital
  • The Moncton Hospital

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

The Moncton Hospital

Matched to The Moncton Hospital / L’Hôpital de Moncton (Moncton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
381 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Regional New Brunswick, Nova Scotia

Loading amenities…

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.