Skip to content
CdnMD

Red Deer - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

University of AlbertaRed Deer, AlbertaCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

CaRMS program description, FM/ES 2027 match, last approved 17 Aug 2026

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
1 year
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
34556

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This 1-year family medicine–emergency medicine stream is based at Red Deer Regional Hospital, with higher-acuity rotations in Edmonton.
  • Residents must complete a scholarly project and need access to a vehicle for travel between rotations.

Training

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Sites

9 teaching sites

  • Red Deer Regional Hospital
  • University of Alberta Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
Show all 9
  • Stollery Children’s Hospital
  • Grey Nuns Hospital
  • Misericordia
  • Sturgeon Hospitals
  • Lethbridge Regional Hospital
  • Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society (STARS)

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • A car is required
Highlights
  • Based in a regional centre where the FM-EM resident is the most senior learner on core rotations.
  • Ultrasound training covers EDE 1 material, making residents CPoCUS IP eligible by year end.
  • Accommodation provided in Red Deer; residents arrange their own housing for mandatory Edmonton rotations.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Emergency Medicine (12 weeks · Red Deer Regional Hospital)
  • Emergency Medicine (6 Weeks · UAH ER (4 Weeks) GNH ER (2 Weeks))
  • Emergency Medicine (4 Weeks · Lethbridge Regional Hospital)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Stollery Children’s Hospital (UAH))
  • Orthopedic Surgery/General Surgery/Neuro/Ophtho/Elective of your choice (4 weeks · Lethbridge or Red Deer Regional Hospital or specific elective location)
  • Adult ICU (8 weeks · UAH/RAH and RDRH ICU)
  • Pediatric ICU (4 weeks · Stollery Children’s Hospital)
  • Trauma and Ultrasound (2 weeks · RAH/UAH)
  • Anesthesia (2 weeks · Red Deer Regional Hospital)
  • EMS Curriculum (Longitudinal · Edmonton ground EMS and STARS (Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society))
  • Emergency Medicine Longitudinal (>8 shifts · At Site of faculty advisor + RDRH)
  • CCU Senior (2 weeks · Royal Alexandra (RAH))
  • Disaster Med Curriculum (Longitudinal · Online and onsite at various locations)
  • Vacation (4 Weeks)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%

Interviews

Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
2 Nov 2026
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$80,058 / year

One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house –  $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Frequency of calls
In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028.

Teaching sites

  • Red Deer Regional Hospital (Red Deer)
  • University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
  • Stollery Children’s Hospital (Edmonton)
  • Grey Nuns Hospital (Edmonton)
  • Misericordia (Edmonton)
  • Sturgeon Hospitals
  • Lethbridge Regional Hospital (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
  • Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society (STARS)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

fmes@ualberta.ca

Allison Alberto · Program Administrator

Program directors

  • Dr. Navdeep Dhaliwal

    Program Director

  • Dr. Hazem Shoblak

    Assistant Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Red Deer, Alberta

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−11.6 °C Red Deer, 11.9 km away
July average
16.2 °C Red Deer, 11.9 km away
Snowfall
137.8 cm a year Red Deer, 11.9 km away
Days below −20 °C
33.7 days a year Red Deer, 11.9 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Red Deer, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
100,844 people up 0.4% from 2016
Official languages
English only 93.9% · French only 0.0% · English and French 5.4% · neither 0.7% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
16.9% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 4.0% · non-permanent residents: 0.9%
Indigenous identity
6.6% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 92.0% · public transit 2.5% · walking or cycling 3.9% · other 1.5% Average commute: 18.4 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$85,000 before tax $75,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Red Deer, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people) 99,846 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.186 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
not published October 2025 survey, Red Deer, Alberta (census agglomeration). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$55,427 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Alberta, population 100,000 to 499,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.3% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Red Deer, Alberta (census metropolitan area); standard error 1.6 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0131-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.