Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Radio-oncologie

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved date not on file

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
5 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Radio-oncologie
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Not stated on CaRMS page
CaRMS program ID
30888

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The Radio-Oncology Residency Program at Université Laval trains specialized physicians in cancer diagnosis and treatment using ionizing radiation. Located at the CHU de Québec, the program offers comprehensive training across five years, focusing on advanced radiation therapy techniques and interdisciplinary patient care.

Training

Research
Residents can dedicate up to 6 months to a research stage, learning experimental methodology and protocol development.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center at CHU de Québec, primarily at the new Integrated Cancer Center, with additional training sites in Quebec region hospitals and clinics.
Teaching approach
Competence by Design approach emphasizing workplace-based assessment, frequent feedback, and progressive skill development through four training stages: progression to discipline, foundations, mastery, and transition to practice.
Setting types
  • Academic medical center
  • Integrated cancer center
  • University hospital
  • Community hospitals
Focus areas
  • Cancer Treatment
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Medical Physics
  • Clinical Oncology
  • Radiobiology
Patient populations
  • Cancer patients
  • Pediatric oncology patients
  • Patients requiring radiation therapy
  • Palliative care patients
Highlights
  • Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME)
  • Weekly theoretical teaching sessions
  • Interdisciplinary research opportunities
  • Up to 6 months research stage
  • Weekly dosimetry laboratory
  • Specialized tumor clinics
  • Treatment planning verification meetings
Strengths
  • State-of-the-art technological infrastructure
  • Excellent resident-to-oncologist ratio
  • Interdisciplinary research environment
  • Collegial learning atmosphere
  • Comprehensive radiation therapy techniques
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

PGY-1
  • Initiation to Radiation OncologyCHU de Québec1 month
PGY-2
  • General Surgery
  • Hemato-Oncology
  • Microbiology-Infectiology
  • Neurology
  • Gynecological Oncology
  • Pneumology
  • Urology
  • Night Stage
  • Palliative Care
  • Radiology

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • Doctoral competencies achievement
  • Desired qualities identification
  • Course and stage success
  • Interview performance
  • Reference letters
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
22 janvier 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • CHU de Québec
  • CHAU-Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis
  • Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec
  • Maison Michel-Sarrazin
  • CH Ste-Marie de Trois-Rivières
  • CSSS de Rimouski
  • Chicoutimi Hospital

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

CHU de Québec

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 335 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 111 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 254 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHAU-Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis

Matched to Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 338 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Show facts for 1 more sites

CH Ste-Marie de Trois-Rivières

Matched to Pavillon Sainte-Marie (Trois-Rivières) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 24,070 · 2026–2027: no row in the file Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 432 · psychiatry 29 · neonatology 12 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Québec, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−11.3 °C Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away
July average
20.0 °C Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away
Snowfall
298.9 cm a year Lauzon, 14.2 km away
Days below −20 °C
20.6 days a year Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Québec, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
549,459 people up 3.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
8.5% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.3% · non-permanent residents: 2.5%
Indigenous identity
1.8% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6% Average commute: 19.5 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$70,500 before tax $60,800 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 733,156 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.143 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.4% October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$49,394 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Québec, Quebec, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
4.3% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.5 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine (NOC 31100) in the Capitale-Nationale region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.