Québec - Ophtalmologie
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Ophtalmologie
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 29840
Summary
The Université Laval Ophthalmology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to develop expert ophthalmologists. The program offers extensive clinical and surgical training across various ophthalmological subspecialties, with a strong emphasis on medical expertise, research, and professional development.
Training
- Research
- Residents must complete at least one research project, which should be presented at the Annual Ophthalmology Research Day (JARO) and potentially submitted for national conference presentation or publication.
- Training setting
- Training primarily occurs at CHU de Québec's University Ophthalmology Center (CUO) at Saint-Sacrement Hospital, with potential rotations at regional hospitals and affiliated healthcare centers in Quebec.
- Teaching approach
- A comprehensive, progressive learning approach emphasizing clinical skills, surgical techniques, medical knowledge, and professional competencies through structured clinical rotations, theoretical courses, and research opportunities.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- University hospital
- Regional healthcare centers
- Focus areas
- Ophthalmology
- Pediatric Ophthalmology
- Neuro-ophthalmology
- Cornea
- Retina
- Glaucoma
- Oculoplastics
- Strabismus
- Ocular Oncology
- Uveal Diseases
- Patient populations
- Pediatric patients
- Adult ophthalmology patients
- Patients requiring specialized eye surgeries
- Patients with complex ocular conditions
- Highlights
- Annual Research Day (JARO)
- Protected research time
- Experimental surgery simulation curriculum
- Stanford Bay Area Ophthalmology Course
- Lancaster Course in Ophthalmology
- TORIC Basic Sciences Course
- Competence by Design (CBD) evaluation method
- Strengths
- Comprehensive 5-year training program
- Strong research component
- Diverse clinical rotation experiences
- Exposure to multiple ophthalmological subspecialties
- Advanced surgical training
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
By year
- PGY-1
- General Ophthalmology2 periods
- Medical Teaching and Consultations2 periods
- Transversal Skills Initiation1 period
- Basic Sciences Course (TORIC)1 period
- Dermatology1 period
- Neurology1 period
- ORL1 period
- Plastic Surgery1 period
- Night Stage1 period
- Emergency1 period
- Ophthalmology Emergency1 period
- PGY-2
- Ophthalmology Emergency4 periods
- Cornea4 periods
- General Ophthalmology3 periods
- Pediatric Ophthalmology1 period
- Neuroradiology1 period
- PGY-3
- Retina/Uveitis/Ocular Oncology3 periods
- Neuro-ophthalmology/Oculoplastics/Adult Strabismus3 periods
- Glaucoma3 periods
- Pediatric Ophthalmology3 periods
- PGY-4
- Cataract Surgery6 periods
- Retina/Ocular Oncology/Uveitis3 periods
- Elective Rotations2 periods
- General Ophthalmology Outside Academic Setting1 period
- PGY-5
- Clinical and Surgical ExperienceFull year
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Academic performance
- Clinical evaluations
- OKAP examination
- Oral examinations
- Competence by Design (CBD) assessment
- Research project
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 19 janvier 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHU de Québec - Centre universitaire d'ophtalmologie (CUO)
- Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
- Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- CHUL-CMES
- Centre hospitalier régional de Rimouski
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
CHUL-CMES
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Centre hospitalier régional de Rimouski
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,321 · 2026–2027: 12,663
- Licensed beds
- physical health 170 · psychiatry 34 · geriatrics 15 · neonatology 5
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage