Québec - Cardiac Surgery
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- Regular
- Cardiac Surgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36312
Summary
- Université Laval's cardiac surgery residency is a 6-year program with rotations at the Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec and the CHU de Québec.
- Residents can expect to perform 300 to 600 operations as first operator.
- Interviews are virtual and held on January 27, 2027.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
- CHU de Québec
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Trains at the adult cardiac surgery centre with the highest surgical volume in Canada.
- Residents expect 300 to 600 operations as first operator.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Stage de chirurgie cardiaque (Transition vers la discipline · 2 à 3 mois)
- Chirurgie cardiaque (Fondements de la discipline)
- vasculaire (Fondements de la discipline)
- cardiologie (échocardiographie) (Fondements de la discipline)
- soins intensifs (Fondements de la discipline)
- traumatologie (Fondements de la discipline)
- Chirurgie cardiaque (Maîtrise de la discipline)
- chirurgie cardiaque pédiatrique (Maîtrise de la discipline)
- cardiologie (hémodynamie, électrophysiologie) (Maîtrise de la discipline)
- endovasculaire (Maîtrise de la discipline)
- enrichissement académique (Maîtrise de la discipline)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (Québec)
- CHU de Québec (Québec)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
- Licensed beds
- physical health 338
CHU de Québec
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
“Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir” · the program’s heading on CaRMS
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
admission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca
Équipe Admission · Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval
Luis Antonio Garcia Palmeros
Agent à la gestion des études
Program directors
Dr(e) Frédéric JACQUES
Directeur de programme
Charles Laurin
Co-directeur de programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage