Peel & Surrounding Communities - Anesthesiology
Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, OntarioCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35719
Summary
- TMU's anesthesiology residency is a 5-year program with training sites spread across Peel and the surrounding region, including William Osler Health System and Trillium Health Partners.
- The sample schedule includes a 4-week rural anesthesia block and a point-of-care ultrasound block.
- The academic day uses a flipped classroom with no didactic sessions, and residents who meet standards can use protected LEARN Time.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- William Osler Health System
- Trillium Health Partners
- Headwaters Health Care Centre
Show all 5Show fewer
- Halton Healthcare
- Peel Region
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- LEARN Time: protected non-clinical time for leadership, education, advocacy and research for residents meeting standards.
- Academic day uses a flipped classroom format with no didactic lectures.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Anesthesia (Transition to Discipline · 3 Blocks (12 weeks))
- Emergency (Adult) (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Intensive Care Unit (ICU) (Foundations of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Obstetrics and Gynecology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Pediatric Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Anesthesia (General, Obstetric, Pediatric Anesthesia) (Foundations of Discipline · 11 Blocks (44 weeks))
- Rural Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Regional Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Junior Pediatric Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 9 Blocks (36 weeks))
- Post-Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU)/Anesthesia Pain Service (APS) (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Pediatric Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 week))
- Elective (Core of Discipline · 5 Blocks (20 weeks))
- ICU (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Cardiac Anesthesia including time in Echocardiography (Echo)/Transesophageal Echocardiography lab (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Thoracic Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (4 weeks))
- Neurosurgical Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 2 Block (8 weeks))
- Vascular Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Pediatric Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Point-of-Care Ultrasound / Echo / Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Non Operating (sedations, scopes, endoscopy) (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Chronic Pain (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Respirology (Bronchoscopy) (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Cardiology / Coronary Care Unit (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Hematology, Nephrology, Palliative Care (Select one) (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Regional Anesthesia (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Elective (Transition to Practice · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Anesthesia: High Risk OB (Transition to Practice · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Anesthesia: High Risk Peds (Transition to Practice · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Anesthesia (Transition to Practice · 3 Blocks (12 weeks))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 31 Jan 2027; 1 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- William Osler Health System
- Trillium Health Partners
- Headwaters Health Care Centre
- Halton Healthcare
- Peel Region
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Nirupan Vipulananthan
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it. This label covers more than one place, so each is listed on its own (A to Z); open one to read it.
Brampton
Climate
- January average
- −5.0 °C
- July average
- 22.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 2.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 656,480 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 4.5% · neither 4.9%
- Immigrants
- 52.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 10.3% · walking or cycling 1.6% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $111,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.053
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage
Mississauga
Climate
- January average
- −5.0 °C
- July average
- 22.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 2.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 717,961 people
- Official languages
- English only 89.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.7% · neither 3.4%
- Immigrants
- 53.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.7% · public transit 11.4% · walking or cycling 3.2% · other 2.7%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.044
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage