Ottawa - Orthopedic Surgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 201–400
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36497
Summary
- The University of Ottawa Orthopedic Surgery program is a 5-year residency with training at The Ottawa Hospital campuses, CHEO, Montfort and Hull Hospital.
- Residents must complete two research projects with manuscripts during the core stage, supported by dedicated research rotations.
- Matched IMGs must complete the Pre-Residency Program and fulfill an Ontario return-of-service commitment after training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital: Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital: General Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital: Riverside Campus
Show all 6Show fewer
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Hospital Montfort
- Hull Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Option to pursue a Master's in Clinical Science and Translational Medicine in parallel with residency.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Orthopedic Surgery (Transition to Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Adult Orthopedics (Foundations · 11 blocks)
- Community Orthopedics (Foundations · 2 blocks)
- Pediatric Orthopedics (Foundations · 3 blocks)
- ICU (Foundations · 2 blocks)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations · 1 block)
- General Surgery (Foundations · 1 block)
- Vascular Surgery (Foundations · 1 block)
- Plastic Surgery (Foundations · 1 block)
- Research (Foundations · 1 block)
- Musculoskeletal Oncology (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Shoulder and Elbow (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Spine Surgery (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Trauma (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Arthroplasty (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Foot and Ankle (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Pediatric Orthopedics (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Hand and Wrist (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Knee Surgery (Core and Transition to Practice)
- Research (Core and Transition to Practice)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital: Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital: General Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital: Riverside Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- Hospital Montfort (Ottawa)
- Hull Hospital (Gatineau)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hull Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,660 · 2026–2027: 14,537
- Licensed beds
- physical health 230
For the other sites: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kevin Smit
Program Director
Faculty profile of Dr. Kevin Smit(opens in a new tab)
Several projects on Vertebral Body Tethering, including Health Canada Medical Device Trials (FUTURE, BRAIVE), Pediatric Spine Study Group Prospective Study on effect of growth modulation and collaborations with the University of Ottawa Biomechanics lab on spinal motion.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage