Ottawa - Medical Genetics and Genomics
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Genetics and Genomics
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 30335
Summary
The University of Ottawa's Medical Genetics and Genomics Residency is a comprehensive 5-year program that combines clinical, laboratory, and research training. The program provides extensive exposure to pediatric and adult genetics, with rotations across multiple sites including CHEO and The Ottawa Hospital, emphasizing broad clinical experience and research opportunities.
Training
- Research
- Research is mandatory, with residents expected to complete at least one research project, publish in a peer-reviewed journal, and present at a national or international meeting. Up to 11 blocks are available for research objectives.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical centers in Ottawa, including Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) and The Ottawa Hospital, serving a catchment area of approximately 1.4 million people in Eastern Ontario and Western Quebec.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing mentorship, research skills, and comprehensive clinical training across pediatric and adult genetics.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Children's hospital
- Community hospital
- Focus areas
- Pediatric Genetics
- Adult Genetics
- Metabolic Disorders
- Dysmorphology
- Chromosomal Disorders
- Neurogenetic Conditions
- Prenatal Genetics
- Cancer Genetics
- Cardiogenetics
- Patient populations
- Pediatric patients
- Adult patients
- Patients with genetic disorders
- Metabolic disorder patients
- Prenatal genetics patients
- Cancer genetics patients
- Highlights
- TeleGRAF monthly teaching seminar
- Weekly academic half days
- Genetic counselling co-curriculum
- Mentorship program
- Buddy system pairing R1s with R3s
- Annual team building event
- Conference funding ($2000/year)
- Care4Rare consortium exposure
- Rotation at SickKids Hospital
- Newborn Screening Ontario exposure
- Strengths
- Comprehensive 5-year training program
- Extensive research opportunities
- Strong mentorship model
- Bilingual patient care environment
- Multiple clinical exposure sites
- National and international conference support
- Enhanced skills
- Genetic Counselling
- Research Skills
- Metabolic Disorders Management
By year
- PGY-1
- Internal MedicineBlocks not specified
- PediatricsBlocks not specified
- Maternal-Fetal MedicineBlocks not specified
- PGY-2
- Foundations RotationsFull year
- PGY-3
- Clinical GeneticsBlocks not specified
- Laboratory RotationsBlocks not specified
- CytogeneticsBlocks not specified
- Molecular GeneticsBlocks not specified
- Biochemical GeneticsBlocks not specified
- PGY-4
- Metabolic RotationOne block
- Genetics Subspecialty RotationsBlocks not specified
- PGY-5
- Transition to PracticeFull year
Selection
- What the program looks at
- CV
- Electives
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 30 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- Ottawa General Hospital
- Ottawa Civic Hospital
- Ottawa Riverside Hospital
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage