Ottawa - Cardiac Surgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Cardiac Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35676
Summary
- This is a 6-year cardiac surgery residency based at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute, a quaternary care centre on the Civic Campus of The Ottawa Hospital.
- Residents also train at The Ottawa Hospital General Campus for thoracic surgery and at CHEO for pediatric cardiac surgery.
- All residents must participate in research, with minimal research productivity criteria linked to promotion.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute
- The Ottawa Hospital, General Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
Show all 4Show fewer
- McGill University
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Senior trainees can do a three-month congenital cardiac surgery rotation at McGill University in Montreal.
- Sole adult cardiac surgery centre for Eastern Ontario and Western Quebec, about 1900 heart procedures annually.
- Minimum research productivity criteria are tied to resident promotion.
By year
- PGY-1
- Cardiac Surgery3 blocks
- Cardiac Anesthesia
- Cardiology
- ICU (Cardiac Surgery and General Surgery)
- Critical Care Unit
- Trauma
- Thoracic Surgery
- Enrichment
- PGY-2
- Cardiac Surgery
- Cardiac Surgery ICU
- Cardiology Intervention
- Critical Care Unit
- Vascular Surgery
- PGY-5
- Cardiac surgery rotations
- elective/fellowship opportunities
Other rotations
- Thoracic Surgery (PGY-3-4)
- Vascular Surgery (PGY-3-4)
- Cardiac Surgery (PGY-3-4)
- Cardiac Surgery (Transition to Practice)
- CHEO (Transition to Practice · CHEO)
- Congenital Cardiac Surgery rotation (three months period · McGill University in Montreal, QC)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 Feb 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital, General Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- McGill University (Montreal)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Talal Al-Atassi
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage