Skip to content
residency.fyi

Northern Ontario - General Surgery

NOSM UniversityNorthern Ontario, OntarioCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 8 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
General Surgery
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35744

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • NOSM University's five-year General Surgery program bases residents in Thunder Bay or Sudbury, with rotations across its distributed northern Ontario area.
  • Required trauma and paediatric surgery blocks take place in Ottawa.
  • Residents are expected to complete and present at least two research projects.
  • Academics are delivered in three multi-day sessions per year instead of weekly half-days.

Training

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Required · research project
Getting around
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • 24-hour in-hospital access to full body cadavers for anatomy and surgical skill learning.
  • Academic teaching delivered in three multi-day sessions per year rather than weekly half-days.
  • Travel to placements away from the home base and to mandatory away educational activities is funded.

By year

PGY-1
  • General Surgery3 Blocks
PGY-5
  • General Surgery6 Blocks

From the program's rotation list.

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • General Surgery (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 5 Blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 1 Block)
  • Medical Clinical Teaching Unit (MCTU) (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 1 Block)
  • Endoscopy (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 2 Blocks)
  • General Surgery Community (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 3 Blocks)
  • Intensive Care Unit (ICU) (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 2 Blocks)
  • Trauma (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 1 Block · Ottawa)
  • Paediatric Surgery (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 2 Blocks · Ottawa)
  • General Surgery (includes Thoracic, Breast, Colorectal, ACS, HPB, Bariatric, TACS) (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 21 Blocks)
  • Thoracic and Vascular Surgery (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 2 Blocks)
  • Electives (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 4 Blocks)
  • General Surgery (Alternative Site) (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 8 Blocks)
  • General Surgery Community (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 3 Blocks)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
7 Feb 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

Not stated on CaRMS page

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

tblouin@nosm.ca

Tammy Blouin · Program Coordinator

Program director

  • Dr. Andrew Smith

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Northern Ontario, Ontario

Loading amenities…

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 6 Oct 2026.