Montreal - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36046
Summary
- This is a 5-year otolaryngology–head and neck surgery residency at Université de Montréal, starting with a common-trunk year.
- Training takes place at Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, CHU Sainte-Justine and CHUM, with community rotations in years 3 and 4.
- Residents complete six research periods in year 2 and must produce one research project per year from residency years 2 to 4.
- Applicants must be proficient in French, and interviews are held virtually in French.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- CHUM
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Residents must produce two surgical-technique videos, presented at an annual division video competition.
- A $25,000 annual fund, managed by residents, covers attendance at national and international courses and conferences.
- Residents have dedicated research periods in second year, with the option to complete a master's degree.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- tronc commun (1 année · 1 année)
- ORL (2 e année · 6 périodes · endroit à déterminé)
- stage d'anatomie tête et cou (2 e année · 1 période)
- recherche (2 e année · 6 périodes)
- laryngologie, oncologie cervicofaciale, otologie, oto-neurologie, chirurgie endoscopique naso-sinusienne et chirurgie de la base du crâne (3 ème année · 8 périodes · CHUM-HMR)
- laryngologie, traumatologie maxillo-faciale, chirurgie esthétique, chirurgie endoscopique naso sinusienne, chirurgie endocrinienne et cutanée et ORL générale (3 ème année · 4 périodes · Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont)
- milieu communautaire (3 ème année · 1 période)
- chirurgie ORL pédiatrique (4 ème année · 3 périodes · CHU Sainte-Justine)
- laryngologie, traumatologie maxillo-faciale, chirurgie esthétique, chirurgie endoscopique naso-sinusienne et ORL générale (4 ème année · 3 périodes · Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont)
- chirurgie endoscopique naso-sinusienne, otologie et oto-neurologie (4 ème année · 6 périodes · CHUM)
- milieu communautaire (4 ème année · 1 période)
- laryngologie, oncologie cervicofaciale, otologie, oto-neurologie, chirurgie endoscopique naso-sinusienne et chirurgie de la base du crâne (5 ème année · 7 périodes · CHUM)
- laryngologie, traumatologie maxillo-faciale, chirurgie esthétique, chirurgie endoscopique naso sinusienne, oncologie cervico-faciale, chirurgie endocrinienne et cutanée et ORL générale (5 ème année · 6 périodes · HMR)
- stage optionnel (3 ème ou 4 ème année · 2 périodes)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- CHUM (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) marie-jo olivier
Directeur du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage