Montreal - Nuclear Medicine
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Nuclear Medicine
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35668
Summary
- The Université de Montréal nuclear medicine residency is a 5-year (65-period) program with a common-trunk R1 year, a junior R2 year and senior R3–R5 years.
- Training takes place in the major hospitals of the Université de Montréal network, with a therapy rotation recommended at the CHUQ in Québec City.
- Residents must be able to work in a French-speaking environment, and interviews are virtual.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
Show all 7Show fewer
- Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Hôpital Cité-de-la-santé de Laval
- CHUQ
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Training language
- French
By year
- PGY-1
- Progression vers la discipline1
- Cardiologie clinique1
- Orthopédie oncologique1
- Urologie pédiatrique1
- Stage de garde de nuit1
- Oncologie médicale2
- Médecine interne - Unité d'enseignement clinique1
- Oncologie radiologique1
- Oncologie pédiatrique1
- Pneumologie1
- Introduction à la radiologie1
- Rhumatologie1
- PGY-2
- Os et urgence3
- Générale Junior 12
- Générale Junior 24
- Cardiologie nucléaire junior3
- TEP1
Other rotations
- Cardiologie nucléaire senior (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · ICM, CHUM)
- Générale senior (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 4 · CHUM)
- Générale senior (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · HSC)
- Générale senior (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · HMR)
- Thérapie (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · CHUM, CHUQ)
- Neurologie (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · CHUM)
- Pédiatrie nucléaire (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · HSJ)
- Recherche (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 1)
- TEP (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 8 · CHUM, HMR)
- Imagerie axiale Thorax (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · Réseau UdeM)
- Imagerie axiale Abdo-pelvien (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 2 · Réseau UdeM)
- Imagerie axiale Tête et cou (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 1 · Réseau UdeM)
- Imagerie axiale Musculosquelettique (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 1 · Réseau UdeM)
- Stage à option général sénior ou thérapie (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 1 · Stage à option générale sénior (CHUM) ou thérapie (CHUM))
- Stage à options (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 6 · Au choix)
- Stage d’intégration (R5) (Senior (R3-R4-R5) · 1)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (Montréal)
- Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Hôpital Cité-de-la-santé de Laval (Laval)
- CHUQ (Québec)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
- Licensed beds
- physical health 153
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Hôpital Cité-de-la-santé de Laval
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
- Licensed beds
- physical health 438 · psychiatry 51
CHUQ
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Personne contact programme de médecine nucléaire
Program director
Dr(e) Peter George Maliha
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage