Montreal - Neurosurgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- Regular
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36219
Summary
- Université de Montréal's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program that admits one resident every two years.
- Training takes place at CHUM, CHU Sainte-Justine and Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal.
- Research options of 3 to 7 periods are scheduled in the second year, and master's and PhD programs are available.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Very small intake: a single resident is admitted every two years.
- Multidisciplinary clinics include neuromodulation for psychiatric patients.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Neurochirurgie clinique (44 périodes)
- Neurologie clinique (4 périodes)
- Neuro-pathologie (3 périodes)
- Neuro-radiologie (3 périodes)
- Options (incluant la recherche)
- Fondements chirurgicaux - Boot camp (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident I · 4 périodes)
- Chirurgie générale- Exposition prise en charge initiale trauma (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neurologie adulte (Résident I · 2 périodes)
- Soins intensifs (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neuro traumatologie (Résident I · 1 période)
- Stage de nuit – Consultation chirurgie (Résident I · 1 période)
- Microbiologie médicale et infectiologie (Résident I · 1 période)
- Chirurgie générale - Soins aigus (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident II · 3 à 5 périodes)
- ORL (Résident II · 1 période)
- Plastie nerfs périphériques (Résident II · 1 période)
- Stage de nuit - Soins intensifs chirurgicaux (Résident II · 1 période)
- Médecine de soins intensifs chez l’adulte (Résident II · 1 période)
- Options recherche (Résident II · 3 à 7 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident III · 6 à 7 périodes)
- Neurologie chez l’adulte - troubles du mouvement (Résident III · 1 période)
- Neurologie chez l’adulte - Épilepsie (Résident III · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie-oncologie (Résident III · 1 période)
- Neuro traumatologie (Résident III · 3 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident IV · 2 périodes)
- Chirurgie orthopédique – Chirurgie du rachis (Résident IV · 2 périodes)
- Neuroradiologie (Résident IV · 3 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie ou plastie-nerfs périphériques (Résident IV · 1 période)
- Carotides (Résident IV · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie pédiatrique (Résident IV · 4 périodes)
- Neuropathologie (Résident V · 3 périodes)
- Neuro traumatologie (Résident V · 2 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident V · 8 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident VI · 10 à 13 périodes)
- Option en neurochirurgie générale vs spécialisée -transition vers la pratique- (Résident VI · 3 périodes)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Agente administrative du programme de neurochirurgie
marie.michele.jules.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Marie-Michèle Jules · Agente administrative du programme de neurochirurgie
Program director
Directeur de programme de Neurochirugie
Dr(e) Marie-Pierre Fournier-Gosselin
Directeur du Programme de Neurochirurgie
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage