Montreal - Neurosurgery
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 6 years
- Regular
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35782
Summary
- McGill's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year integrated program based at the MNH-MNI, with rotations at the MGH, MCH and JGH.
- The first year of research is part of residency and can be extended by two years to obtain a graduate degree, including via the CIP.
- Instruction is primarily in English, and interviews are held by videoconference.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute (MNH-MNI)
- Montreal General Hospital (MGH)
- Montreal Childrens' Hospital (MCH)
Show all 5Show fewer
- Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH)
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Main training base is the Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute, with access to its neuroscience research laboratories.
By year
- PGY-1
- neurosurgery7 blocks
- critical care3 blocks
- vascular surgery2 blocks
- emergency medicine1 block
- PGY-2
- neurosurgery (including spine trauma and cranial neurotrauma)9 blocks
- Neurology2 blocks
- Radiology2 blocks
- PGY-3
- neurosurgery13 blocks
- PGY-4
- Research Program
- PGY-5
- neurosurgeryup to 13 blocks
Other rotations
- neurosurgery (PGY-6 · up to 10 blocks · Jewish General Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurologic Hospital)
- neuropathology (PGY-6 · 3 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute (MNH-MNI) (Montreal)
- Montreal General Hospital (MGH) (Montreal)
- Montreal Childrens' Hospital (MCH) (Montreal)
- Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH) (Montreal)
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH) (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute (MNH-MNI)
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
Montreal General Hospital (MGH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Montreal Childrens' Hospital (MCH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Judith Marcoux
Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage