Montreal - Neurology
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35492
Summary
- McGill's adult neurology residency is a 5-year program in which residents rotate through several Montreal hospitals and an outpatient neurology clinic.
- All residents complete six protected periods of neuroscience research and a PGY-3 quality improvement project.
- The program takes about 4-5 residents per year, and residents follow patients over time in a Longitudinal Neurology Resident Clinic.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Montreal Neurological Hospital (MNH)
- McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) - Montreal General Hospital site (MGH)
- MUHC - Royal Victoria Hospital/Glen site (RVH)
Show all 6Show fewer
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
- Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH)
- Montreal Neuro Clinic at 5100 De Maisonneuve Ouest
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Six protected periods of dedicated neuroscience research for every resident.
- Optional travel with staff to northern Quebec communities such as Kuujjuaq and Povernituq.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Neurology General CTU (Transition to Discipline (TtD) · 1 period)
- Neurology Consult (Transition to Discipline (TtD) · 1 period)
- Internal Medicine CTU (Transition to Discipline (TtD) · 1 period)
- Neurology Consult (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 3 periods)
- Neurology Stroke CTU (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 2 periods)
- Neurology General CTU (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 2 periods)
- Neurology Outpatient Clinics (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 2 periods)
- Electives (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 2 periods)
- Neurology ICU (NICU) (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Neuroradiology (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Junior EMG (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Internal Medicine ICU (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Internal Medicine CTU (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Internal Medicine Consult (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Cardiology Consult/CCU (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Rheumatology Consult (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Endocrinology Consult (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Psychiatry Consult/Liaison (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · 1 period)
- Neurology Longitudinal Clinic (Foundation of Discipline (FoD) · Continuous (as of PGY2))
- Neuroscience Research (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 6 periods)
- Electives (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 3 periods)
- Neurology Consult (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 4 periods)
- Neurology General CTU (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 3 periods)
- Pediatric Neurology (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 3 periods)
- Neurology Stroke CTU (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2 periods)
- Neurology Outpatient Clinics (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2 periods)
- Neurology Epilepsy CTU (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2 periods)
- Senior EMG (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 2 periods)
- EEG (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 period)
- Palliative Care (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 period)
- Physiatry (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 period)
- Community Neurology (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 period)
- Internal Medicine Subspecialty (Core of Discipline (CoD) · 1 period)
- Neurology Longitudinal Clinic (Core of Discipline (CoD) · Continuous)
- Neurology Consult (Transition to Practice (TtP) · 2 (includes 4 weeks junior staff))
- Electives (Transition to Practice (TtP) · 3 periods)
- Neurology Stroke CTU (Transition to Practice (TtP) · 1 period)
- Neurology General CTU (Transition to Practice (TtP) · 1 period)
- Neurology Outpatient Clinics (Transition to Practice (TtP) · 1 period)
- Neurology Longitudinal Clinic (Transition to Practice (TtP) · Continuous)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Montreal Neurological Hospital (MNH) (Montreal)
- McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) - Montreal General Hospital site (MGH) (Montreal)
- MUHC - Royal Victoria Hospital/Glen site (RVH) (Montreal)
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH) (Montreal)
- Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH) (Montreal)
- Montreal Neuro Clinic at 5100 De Maisonneuve Ouest (Montreal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Montreal Neurological Hospital (MNH)
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) - Montreal General Hospital site (MGH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
MUHC - Royal Victoria Hospital/Glen site (RVH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Stuart Lubarsky
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage