Miramichi - Family Medicine
Dalhousie UniversityMiramichi, New BrunswickIMG stream
- 1 position
- 2 years
- IMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35847
Summary
- This two-year Dalhousie family medicine program is based in Miramichi, New Brunswick, a small city with a 146-bed hospital.
- Clinical training is delivered in a longitudinal integrated format, with a 4-week Obstetrics and Gynecology block in Saint John.
- A scholarly project is required, with protected time, and interviews are held virtually.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Miramichi
- Saint John
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Mostly one-on-one teaching, with each resident assigned one or two primary preceptors.
- Clinical exposure includes prison medicine and Indigenous health clinics.
- Free French language training is offered at the hospital.
By year
- PGY-1
- selectivesfour weeks
- PGY-2
- Electiveseight weeks
Other rotations
- Family medicine
- Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- General Surgery
- Orthopedic surgery
- Pediatrics
- Psychiatry
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Medicine
- Hospitalist (1-2 week)
- Obstetrics and Gynecology (1-2 week)
- Intensive Care (1-2 week)
- Obstetrics and Gynecology (4-week · Saint John, New Brunswick)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Miramichi (Miramichi)
- Saint John (Saint John)
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.8 °C
- July average
- 19.6 °C
- Snowfall
- 312.1 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 17,692 people
- Official languages
- English only 80.3% · French only 0.4% · English and French 19.3% · neither 0.1%
- Immigrants
- 3.7% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 93.8% · public transit 0.5% · walking or cycling 4.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $66,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Chatham - Douglastown, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.354
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- not published
- Basic cost of living
- $50,975 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage