London - Neurology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35501
Summary
- Western University's Neurology residency is a 5-year program based mainly at London Health Sciences Centre's University and Victoria Hospitals in London.
- Residents begin a Resident Longitudinal Clinic in the second half of PGY-2, and in PGY-5 they act as junior attending.
- A quality improvement project is required, and residents can choose research blocks.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital
- London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Hospital
- London Regional Cancer Program
Show all 4Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Health Care, Parkwood Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Dedicated Urgent Neurology Clinic providing general neurology exposure, with PGY-5 residents acting as junior attending.
- Formal QI training through the 'Bootcamp in Sustainable Quality' course, with longitudinal coaching.
By year
- PGY-1
- introductory blocks on the neurology home service2-3 blocks
- Urgent Neurology servicea block
- internal medicine and its subspecialties
- neurosurgery
- emergency medicine
- psychiatry
- PGY-2
- Neurocritical carea block
- medicine subspecialties
- physical medicine and rehabilitation
- palliative care
- sleep medicine
- Resident Longitudinal Clinic
- PGY-5
- Urgent Neurology Clinic
- inpatient service
Other rotations
- inpatient ward (PGY-3-4)
- emergency department (PGY-3-4)
- Urgent Neurology Clinic (PGY-3-4)
- subspecialty outpatient clinics (PGY-3-4)
- pediatric neurology (PGY-3-4)
- neuropathology (PGY-3-4)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital (London)
- London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Hospital (London)
- London Regional Cancer Program (London)
- St. Joseph's Health Care, Parkwood Hospital (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Anita Florendo-Cumbermack
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage