Kingston - Psychiatry
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36379
Summary
- Queen's University Psychiatry is a 5-year residency program based in Kingston.
- Training takes place at the Hotel Dieu and Kingston General Hospital acute care sites and at Providence Care Hospital.
- Residents choose a General or Intensive Research Stream, and the Clinician Investigator Program is available.
- After-hours call is approximately 1 in 14, using a buddy system.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre - Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Kingston General Hospital
- Providence Care Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Queen's Student Health
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- frequency “approximately 1 in 14”
- Highlights
- Two formal research streams (General and Intensive), with option to switch streams.
- Buddy system pairing junior and senior residents for all calls.
By year
- PGY-1
- Psychiatry3 blocks
- Selective1 block
- Psychiatry Selective1 block
- Geriatric medicine1 block
- Internal Medicine1 block
- Emergency Medicine1 block
- Pediatrics1 block
- Neurology1 block
- Family medicine1 block
- Rehabilitative Medicine1 block
- Hospital Medicine1 block
- PGY-2
- Inpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
- Outpatient Psychiatry4 blocks
- Emergency Psychiatry2 blocks
- Research1 block
- PGY-3
- Child & Adolescent Psychiatry6 blocks
- Geriatric Psychiatry6 blocks
- Consultation Liaison Psychiatry1 block
- PGY-4
- chronic care psychiatry3 blocks
- Consultation-liaison psychiatry2 blocks
- shared care psychiatry2 blocks
- addictions2 blocks
- personality disorders2 blocks
- developmental disabilities1 block
- emergency psychiatry1 block
- PGY-5
- electives and selectives, including research
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 and 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre - Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
- Providence Care Hospital (Kingston)
- Queen's Student Health (Kingston)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Matthew Tobin
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage