Kingston - Orthopedic Surgery
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 201–400
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35328
Summary
- Queen's University's five-year orthopedic surgery residency is based at Kingston Health Sciences Centre.
- Required community and subspecialty rotations take place at Brockville, Humber River, Mount Sinai and Lakeridge Health.
- The program uses a spiral curriculum and a night float call system, and residents must complete two research projects.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Urban community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (KGH in-patient and HDH ambulatory care centre)
- KHSC Intensive Care Unit
- Brockville General Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- Humber River Health
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Lakeridge Health (Oshawa/Ajax)
- Centre for Health Innovation (CHI)
- Queen's Medical School - Anatomy and Simulation Labs
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Highlights
- Spiral curriculum with a rotation on every orthopedic subspecialty service each year of training.
- Fellowship positions are deliberately limited so residents get enough clinical experience.
- Protected weekly research half day with engineering and computing research groups at the Centre for Health Innovation.
By year
- PGY-1
- Orthopedic Surgery6 blocks
- Orthopedics3 blocks
- Community Orthopedics1 block
- Radiology and Physical Medicine & Rehab1 block
- Emergency Medicine1 block
- Vascular Surgery1 block
- Plastic Surgery1 block
- Neurosurgery1 block
- Intensive Care Unit1 block
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp2 week
- PGY-2
- Orthopedicone block
- Orthopedic Boot Campweek long
- Junior Rotationstwo block
- Allied MSK Health care clinics
- PGY-3
- electivesup to 3 blocks
- Foot & Ankle2 block
- Community Orthopedic rotation2 block
- Sports Medicine/Upper Extremity (service A)
- Arthroplasty (service B)
- Pediatrics/Spine (service C)
- Trauma/Night Float (service D)
- Oncology
- PGY-5
- Sports Medicine/Upper Extremity (service A)2-block
- Arthroplasty (service B)2-block
- Pediatrics/Spine (service C)2-block
- Trauma/Night Float (service D)2-block
- exam preparationone block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (KGH in-patient and HDH ambulatory care centre) (Kingston)
- KHSC Intensive Care Unit (Kingston)
- Brockville General Hospital (Brockville · rural or distributed site)
- Humber River Health (North York · rural or distributed site)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- Lakeridge Health (Oshawa/Ajax) (Oshawa/Ajax · rural or distributed site)
- Centre for Health Innovation (CHI) (Kingston)
- Queen's Medical School - Anatomy and Simulation Labs (Kingston)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Davide Bardana
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage