Kingston - General Surgery
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35470
Summary
- Queen's General Surgery is a five-year residency based at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, organized around clinical teaching units in four-week blocks.
- Residents rotate repeatedly through Lakeridge Health in Oshawa and complete a one-block trauma rotation at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto.
- Call is a night float system, and research is an expected component with a weekly half-day available for research.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre
- Intensive Care Unit at KHSC Kingston General Hospital site
- Lakeridge Health (Oshawa General Hospital)
Show all 4Show fewer
- St. Michael's Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Highlights
- Clinical Investigator Program lets residents earn a Masters or PhD; 25% of current residents pursue graduate degrees.
- Dedicated endoscopy rotation starting in PGY1 combining simulation and clinical training.
- PGY5 residents run senior clinics and ORs independently with minimal staff intervention.
By year
- PGY-3
- general surgery12 blocks
- gastroenterologyone block
- PGY-4
- electivethree or four elective blocks
- general surgeryseven general surgery blocks
- trauma rotationone block
- PGY-5
- CTU services on general surgery
Other rotations
- surgical foundations bootcamp (Transition to Discipline (PGY1, 3 months) · first two weeks)
- General Surgery CTU Teams (Transition to Discipline (PGY1, 3 months) · first 3 months)
- vascular surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
- ICU (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
- endoscopy (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
- thoracics (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
- ER (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · one block)
- plastic surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · one block)
- anesthesia (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · split bock)
- radiology (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · split bock)
- General Surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · remaining blocks)
- General Surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks · Oshawa Lakeridge health site)
- community surgical experience (PGY 3 or PGY 4 · Napanee)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston)
- Intensive Care Unit at KHSC Kingston General Hospital site (Kingston)
- Lakeridge Health (Oshawa General Hospital) (Oshawa · rural or distributed site)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Peter Szasz
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage