Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

Also at Queen’s, outside the CaRMS match: Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry route, for practising or certified family physicians. Applications: No dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry route, on the list of programs applied for at the school

From the school’s own pages, not CaRMS; you apply to the school, on its dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

CaRMS program description, FM/ES 2027 match, last approved 22 Jul 2026

Positions (approx. quota)
9 positions
Length
1 year
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
34577

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This 1-year program prepares family physicians for the CFPC Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine.
  • Core emergency blocks take place at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, with community emergency, ICU, anaesthesia, pediatric and trauma rotations at hospitals outside Kingston.
  • All residents graduate with core emergency POCUS certification, and a summer boot camp covers core resuscitation and procedural skills.

Training

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Sites

13 teaching sites

  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre (KHSC)
  • Kingston General Hospital (KGH)
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital (HDH)
Show all 13
  • Belleville General Hospital
  • Peterborough Regional Health Centre
  • Brockville General Hospital
  • Lennox and Addington County General Hospital
  • Humber River Hospital
  • Cornwall Community Hospital
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • Oshawa General Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • St. Michael's Hospital

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project
Highlights
  • Stroke school run by neurology prepares residents to take an allotment of stroke call during the year.
  • Two-day cadaver course on airway, chest tubes and resuscitative thoracotomy.
  • Eight full-day summer boot camp on core resuscitation and procedural skills, shared with FRCP-EM residents.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Emergency – tertiary (3-4 blocks · Kingston Health Sciences Centre (with horizontal trauma team call))
  • ICU (2 blocks · KGH ICU, Peterborough ICU or Oshawa ICU)
  • Emergency – community (2-3 blocks · Community Hospital Sites (Peterborough, Belleville, Brockville, Trenton, Napanee, Humber River (Toronto)))
  • Emergency – Pediatrics (1 block · CHEO (Ottawa))
  • Anaesthesia (1 block · Belleville, Brockville, or Cornwall)
  • Plastics, Ortho, or Trauma (1 block · Kingston (plastics), Oshawa (ortho) or Trauma Centre (Sunnybrook or St. Michael's in Toronto))
  • Advanced Point-of-Care Ultrasound (optional) (1 block · Kingston Health Sciences Centre)
  • Elective (1 block · Varies – Resident’s Choice)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • “MCCQE Part I is required for IMG applicants”
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%

Interviews

Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
9 and 10 Nov 2026
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre (KHSC) (Kingston)
  • Kingston General Hospital (KGH) (Kingston)
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital (HDH) (Kingston)
  • Belleville General Hospital (Belleville · rural or distributed site)
  • Peterborough Regional Health Centre (Peterborough · rural or distributed site)
  • Brockville General Hospital (Brockville · rural or distributed site)
  • Lennox and Addington County General Hospital (Napanee · rural or distributed site)
  • Humber River Hospital (Toronto)
  • Cornwall Community Hospital (Cornwall · rural or distributed site)
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Oshawa General Hospital (Oshawa · rural or distributed site)
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
  • St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

dfm-carms@queensu.ca

DFM CaRMS Team · Program Coordinator

Program directors

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

More links

Links the program published on CaRMS

Location

Kingston, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−7.0 °C Kingston, 5.5 km away
July average
20.8 °C Kingston, 5.5 km away
Snowfall
158.0 cm a year Centreville, 33.8 km away
Days below −20 °C
13.2 days a year Centreville, 33.8 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Kingston, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
132,485 people up 7.0% from 2016
Official languages
English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
13.6% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.0% · non-permanent residents: 2.5%
Indigenous identity
4.2% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3% Average commute: 17.6 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$79,000 before tax $70,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 127,943 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.216 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.4% October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$54,744 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Ontario, population 100,000 to 499,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
5.6% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.7 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.