Kingston - Anesthesiology
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 201–400
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35517
Summary
- Queen's University offers a five-year Anesthesiology residency based mainly at Kingston General Hospital and Hotel Dieu Hospital in Kingston.
- Residents complete three months of pediatric anesthesia at CHEO and one month at a community site in Peterborough, Humber River or Oshawa.
- A scholarly project is expected during the Core years, and up to 6 blocks of elective time are available.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Providence Care Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- KOPI
- Humber River Hospital
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Lakeridge Health Centre (Oshawa)
- Peterborough Regional Health Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Global health electives for senior residents through established partnerships in Ethiopia and Rwanda.
- All residents get formal instruction and hands-on training in focused transthoracic echocardiography.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Anesthesia (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks/8 weeks · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Anesthesia (Foundations · 9 blocks · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (Foundations · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Obstetrics/Obstetric Anesthesia (Foundations · 2 blocks · Kingston General Hospital)
- Acute Pain/ Regional Anesthesia (Foundations · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- General Surgery (Foundations · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Resuscitation/PocUS/Emergency Medicine (Foundations · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations · 2 blocks · Kingston General Hospital)
- Pediatrics (Ward/COPC) (Foundations · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Anesthesia (Core · 11 blocks · Kingston General Hospital / Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Adult Intensive Care Unit (Core · 4 blocks · Kingston General Hospital)
- Perioperative Medicine/Satellite Anesthesia (Core · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital)
- Neuroanesthesia (Core · 2 blocks · Kingston General Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (Core · 3 blocks · CHEO)
- Respirology/Thoracic Anesthesia (Core · 3 blocks · Kingston General Hospital)
- Acute Pain Chronic Pain Regional Anesthesia (Core · 3 blocks · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital/KOPI)
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (Core · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital)
- Cardiac Anesthesia/Echo/TEE (Core · 2 blocks · Kingston General Hospital)
- Airway/ENT (Core · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Vascular/Transplant/Thoracic (Core · 2 blocks · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Perioperative Medicine/Satellite/Pre-Anesthesia Clinics (Transition to Practice · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (Transition to Practice · 1 block · Kingston General Hospital)
- Anesthesia (Transition to Practice · 7 blocks · Kingston General Hopsital/Hotel Dieu Hospital)
- Anesthesia (Electives during Foundations, Core and Transition to Pratice Rotations · 6 months · TBA)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2, 3, 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Providence Care Hospital (Kingston)
- KOPI
- Humber River Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Lakeridge Health Centre (Oshawa) (Oshawa · rural or distributed site)
- Peterborough Regional Health Centre (Peterborough · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jordan Leitch
Program Director
Faculty profile of Dr. Jordan Leitch(opens in a new tab)
Perioperative Medicine (improving care and outcomes after non-cardiac surgery); Team Morale in Critical Situations in the ICU (communication and leadership styles); Chronic Myofascial Pelvic Pain; Heart Rate Variability after Non-Cardiac Surgery as a Predictor of Outcomes
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage