Hamilton - Psychiatry
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioIMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- IMG
- Psychiatry
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36485
Summary
- McMaster's Hamilton Campus psychiatry residency is a 5-year program based at hospitals of Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare.
- Residents complete an 8-week resident-designed selective working with marginalized populations.
- Scholarly requirements include a quality improvement project, and the final year includes 10 blocks of electives.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation
- St. Joseph's Healthcare
- Halton Healthcare
Show all 7Show fewer
- McMaster Children's Hospital
- West 5th Campus of St. Joseph's Healthcare
- Homewood Health Centre
- Grand River Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Small program
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · frequency “1/10 and 1/15-18”
- Highlights
- Residents choose both site and supervisor for every psychiatry rotation.
- PGY5 'Junior Attending' call shifts mimic the work of a staff emergency psychiatrist.
- Psychotherapy supervision includes weekly review of audio or video recordings of each therapy session.
By year
- PGY-1
- Emergency Psychiatryfour-week block
- selective (chosen from Geriatric Medicine, General Pediatrics, Developmental Pediatrics, Palliative Care, or Pediatric Neurology)one block
- electiveone block
- Internal Medicine
- Family Medicine
- Neurology
- Adolescent Medicine
- Emergency Medicine
- Addictions
- core rotation working with the medical team providing care to patients admitted to Psychiatry
- PGY-2
- General Adult Inpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
- General Adult Outpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
- Anchored Selective1 block
- PGY-3
- Child & Adolescent Psychiatry6 blocks
- Geriatric Psychiatry6 blocks
- Anchored Selective1 block
- PGY-4
- Chronic Care Psychiatry6 blocks
- Elective, which may include research4 blocks
- Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry3 blocks
Other rotations
- Transition to Discipline (Transition to Discipline · two blocks)
- Collaborative Care (Transition to Practice · 3 blocks)
- electives (Transition to Practice · 10 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Healthcare (Hamilton)
- Halton Healthcare
- McMaster Children's Hospital (Hamilton)
- West 5th Campus of St. Joseph's Healthcare (Hamilton)
- Homewood Health Centre (Guelph)
- Grand River Hospital (Kitchener-Waterloo)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Megan Puckering
Associate Program Director
Dr. Amanda Ritsma
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage