Hamilton - Orthopedic Surgery
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35507
Summary
- McMaster's orthopedic surgery residency is a 5-year program with about 30 faculty and 29 residents.
- Training takes place across Hamilton Health Sciences hospitals and St. Joseph's Healthcare, with no primary base hospital.
- Residents may apply for dedicated time to complete a Master's degree, and PGY2 includes a clinical research course.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- McMaster Children's Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Healthcare
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Highlights
- Division hosts the only Canada Research Chair in Orthopedics; faculty lead large randomized orthopedic trials.
- Option to apply for dedicated time during residency to complete a Master's degree.
By year
- PGY-3
- foot and ankle3 blocks
- upper extremity3 blocks
- spine3 blocks
- elective or community rotation2 blocks
- general orthopedics2 blocks
- PGY-4
- trauma3 blocks
- pediatric surgery3 blocks
- elective or community rotation2 blocks
- arthroplasty2 blocks
- oncology2 blocks
- general orthopedics1 block
Other rotations
- orthopedic surgery (Transition to Discipline · 11 blocks)
- trauma (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
- perioperative medicine (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
- pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- arthroplasty (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- trauma (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- sports (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- ICU (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- junior spine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- vascular (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- general orthopedics (Transition to Practice · 12 blocks)
- study block (Transition to Practice · 1 study block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- McMaster Children's Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Healthcare (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Jeffrey Kay
Program Director
905522115532267
Dr. James Yan
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage