Hamilton - Internal Medicine
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 22 positions
- 4 years
- CMG
- Internal Medicine
- 401–600
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35248
Summary
- McMaster's Internal Medicine residency is a three-year core program with a fourth year as an extension for residents who do not match to a subspecialty.
- Training uses five Hamilton hospitals, and CTU rotations take place at St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton and Hamilton General Hospital.
- Residents spend two months in intensive care in PGY1, and senior call is mostly done through night float.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre
Show all 6Show fewer
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- St. Peter's hospital
- Waterloo Regional Campus
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float · frequency “maximum 1:4 to as low as 1:6”
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Each year, three PGY3 residents can take a fully funded, competitive one-month elective in Uganda, with a reciprocal exchange.
- Resident-developed Social Medicine rotation covering shelter health, refugee health, harm reduction and substance use care.
- Competitive longitudinal research pathway that gives one protected research day in each clinical rotation.
By year
- PGY-1
- medicine subspecialties4-5 blocks
- General Medicine Clinical Teaching Units (CTU)4 blocks
- Intensive Care2 blocks
- Ambulatory Care Clinics2 blocks
- non-medicine rotations: emergency medicine, radiology0-1 block
- PGY-2
- Senior Medical Resident on General Medicine CTUs3.5 blocks
- Nephrology1 - 2 blocks in PGY2, 0 -1 block in PGY3
- Cardiology2 blocks
- Ambulatory care clinics alone or combined with research2 blocks
- Night Float1.5 blocks
- Intensive Care1 block
- Community Elective in GIM1 block
- PGY-3
- Teaching Medical Resident on General Medicine CTU2 blocks
- Choice between Junior Attending or Directed Selective1 block
- ICU1 block
- CCU1 block
- Community GIM1 block
- Hybrid ER Consult/Ward rotation1 block
- Night Float1 block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 23 and 30 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- St. Peter's hospital (Hamilton)
- Waterloo Regional Campus (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
“Program Contact” · the program’s heading on CaRMS
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Leslie Martin
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage