Hamilton - General Surgery
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 6 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36515
Summary
- McMaster's General Surgery program is a five-year residency whose first year overlaps with Surgical Foundations.
- Training is centred at St. Joseph's, Hamilton General and Juravinski hospitals in Hamilton, with up to 6 blocks of community or elective surgery outside Hamilton.
- Residents must complete two research projects and may request research blocks in PGY3-4.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
13 teaching sites
- St. Joseph’s Hospital
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre
Show all 13Show fewer
- Oakville
- Joseph Brant in Burlington
- Brantford
- Markham-Stouffville
- MacKenzie Health
- Kitchener-Waterloo
- Cambridge
- Guelph
- Collingwood
- Credit Valley
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Divisional endowment (Juravinski Surgical Fellowship) can fund salary support for a research leave of absence.
- Program-specific "Rookie Camp" of educational sessions added to the Surgical Foundations Boot Camp in year one.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp plus our program-specific "Rookie Camp" of educational sessions (YEAR ONE · 1 block)
- Trauma (YEAR ONE · 1 block)
- Acute Care Surgery (YEAR ONE · 1 block · HGH)
- non-ACS general surgery (YEAR ONE · 6 blocks · SJH and JHCC)
- pediatric general surgery (YEAR ONE · 2 blocks)
- internal medicine or perioperative medicine (YEAR ONE · 1 block)
- emergency medicine OR internal medicine OR perioperative medicine OR thoracic surgery (YEAR ONE · 1 block)
- acute care surgery (YEAR TWO · 3 blocks · SJH or JHCC)
- non-ACS general surgery (YEAR TWO · 2 blocks · HGH)
- non-ACS general surgery (YEAR TWO · 2 blocks · anywhere in Hamilton)
- ICU (YEAR TWO · 3 blocks)
- Endoscopy (YEAR TWO · 3 blocks)
- community or elective general surgery (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · Up to 6 blocks · outside Hamilton)
- non-general surgery surgical specialty (e.g., Vascular, Thoracic, Head and Neck, Urology, Plastics) (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · Up to 4 blocks)
- breast oncology (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · 2 blocks)
- acute care surgery (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · 3 blocks · SJH or JHCC)
- acute care surgery (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · 1 block · HGH)
- Trauma (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · 1 block)
- general surgery (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · 4 to 6 blocks · anywhere in Hamilton)
- non-general surgery elective blocks, e.g., research, global health, non-surgical rotations (YEAR THREE + FIRST 10 BLOCKS OF YEAR FOUR · Up to 3 blocks)
- general surgery (LAST 3 Blocks of year four + YEAR FIVE – THE “CHIEF YEAR” · 14 blocks)
- “transition to practice” clinical experiences (LAST 3 Blocks of year four + YEAR FIVE – THE “CHIEF YEAR” · 2 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- St. Joseph’s Hospital (Hamilton)
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre (Hamilton)
- Oakville (Oakville)
- Joseph Brant in Burlington (Burlington)
- Brantford (Brantford)
- Markham-Stouffville (Markham)
- MacKenzie Health
- Kitchener-Waterloo (Kitchener)
- Cambridge (Cambridge)
- Guelph (Guelph)
- Collingwood (Collingwood)
- Credit Valley
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Ilun Yang
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage