Skip to content
residency.fyi

Hamilton - Diagnostic Radiology

McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioIMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 20 Aug 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
5 years
Stream
IMG
Discipline
Diagnostic Radiology
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35490

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • McMaster's Diagnostic Radiology residency is a 5-year program training at Hamilton Health Sciences sites and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton.
  • Final-year residents function as junior staff, and residents must complete a research project and a clinical audit.
  • IMG applicants must fulfil an Ontario return-of-service commitment immediately after training.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

4 teaching sites

  • Hamilton Health Sciences - McMaster University Medical Centre
  • Hamilton Health Sciences - Juravinski Hospital
  • Hamilton Health Sciences - Hamilton General Hospital
Show all 4
  • St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project
Highlights
  • Final-year residents function as "junior staff" in a dedicated 4-block Transition to Practice rotation.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Internal Medicine (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • General Surgery (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Pathology (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • Neurology (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • Introductory Radiology / Anatomy (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Introductory CT (Foundations)
  • Introductory Ultrasound (Foundations)
  • Introductory Neuroradiology (Foundations)
  • ER / Trauma Radiography (Foundations)
  • Pediatric Radiology (Foundations)
  • Chest Radiology (Foundations)
  • Musculoskeletal Radiology (Foundations)
  • Body CT (Foundations)
  • Pediatric Radiology (Core)
  • Chest Radiology (Core)
  • Musculoskeletal Radiology (Core)
  • Ultrasound (Core)
  • Breast Imaging (Core)
  • Nuclear Medicine (Core)
  • Neuroradiology (Core)
  • Cardiac Imaging (Core)
  • Obstetrical Ultrasound (Core)
  • GI Fluoroscopy (Core)
  • Community Rotation (Core)
  • Electives (Core)
  • Junior Staff (Transition to Practice · 4 blocks)
  • Electives (Transition to Practice · 1 blocks)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
20 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Hamilton Health Sciences - McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
  • Hamilton Health Sciences - Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
  • Hamilton Health Sciences - Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
  • St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

radpa@mcmaster.ca

Cheney Matteliano · Program Assistant

  • Tara Johnstone

    Senior Education Program Associate

Program directors

  • Dr. Yoan Kagoma

    Program Director

    radpd@mcmaster.ca

  • Dr. Patrick Kennedy

    Assistant Program Director

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Hamilton, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−3.1 °C Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away
July average
21.9 °C Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away
Snowfall
114.5 cm a year Toronto Pearson (Airport), 49.4 km away
Days below −20 °C
0.7 days a year Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Hamilton, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
569,353 people up 6.0% from 2016
Official languages
English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
25.9% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 3.6% · non-permanent residents: 2.3%
Indigenous identity
2.2% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0% Average commute: 25.3 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$86,000 before tax $75,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 729,560 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.066 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
3.5% October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$59,504 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Hamilton/Burlington, Ontario, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.9% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.7 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine (NOC 31100) in the Hamilton - Niagara Peninsula region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 6 Oct 2026.