Hamilton - Diagnostic Radiology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 6 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic Radiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36180
Summary
- McMaster's Diagnostic Radiology program is a 5-year residency based at Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton sites.
- Training progresses from off-service rotations to radiology subspecialty rotations, ending with a Junior Staff period in Transition to Practice.
- Residents must complete a research project and a clinical audit, and interviews are virtual.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Hamilton Health Sciences - McMaster University Medical Centre
- Hamilton Health Sciences - Juravinski Hospital
- Hamilton Health Sciences - Hamilton General Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Final-year residents function as junior staff during a 4-block Transition to Practice period.
- Reports a 10-year 100% Royal College examination pass rate.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Internal Medicine (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- General Surgery (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- Pathology (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 1 block)
- Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 1 block)
- Neurology (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 1 block)
- Introductory Radiology / Anatomy (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- Introductory CT (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Introductory Ultrasound (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Introductory Neuroradiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- ER / Trauma Radiography (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Pediatric Radiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Chest Radiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Musculoskeletal Radiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Body CT (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Pediatric Radiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Chest Radiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Musculoskeletal Radiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Ultrasound (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Breast Imaging (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Nuclear Medicine (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Neuroradiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Cardiac Imaging (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Obstetrical Ultrasound (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- GI Fluoroscopy (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Community Rotation (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Electives (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Junior Staff (Transition to Practice (Blocks 60 - 65) · 4 blocks)
- Electives (Transition to Practice (Blocks 60 - 65) · 1 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton Health Sciences - McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- Hamilton Health Sciences - Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- Hamilton Health Sciences - Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Tara Johnstone
Senior Education Program Associate
Program directors
Dr. Yoan Kagoma
Program Director
Dr. Patrick Kennedy
Assistant Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage